Skip to content

Harvest Monday – October 24, 2011

October 24, 2011

The posts are getting shorter and shorter…

On Wednesday, 100 g of tomatoes had ripened on top of my kitchen cabinets (maybe next year I’ll remember to sort them by variety before I put them up there – it’s a little dark up there, and it’s hard to tell if that’s a ripe yellow one or a half-ripe red one!), and a bit of parsley:

On Sunday, I went out to pick rosehips, which are still waiting for me to do something with them – I’ll try making jam, probably. Maybe tomorrow – Wednesday is our national holiday, so it won’t matter if I stay up late.

I also gave up on my lettuces – they won’t grow any more now it’s so cold, so I harvested two of them. They’re pretty tiny – bonsai lettuces!

And the pepper I found earlier this week (which must have escaped me last week) finally got its picture taken as well (and I really don’t know why the peppers are always blurry!)

And as always, check out the posts over at Daphne’s Dandelions – I don’t know about the others yet, but Daphne certainly harvested a lot more than I did!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 24, 2011 23:49

    Ooh, love those rose hips. we just planted two bushes this year so it will be next year before we have many hips. I’ll be looking for things to do with them too, although I know they make good teas.

  2. October 25, 2011 07:07

    I originally planned to dry some as well, but ended up finding less than I thought I would – looked like someone else had already been picking.

Leave a Reply

