Skip to content

October at the Botanical Garden, Part 2: Autumn Beauties

November 5, 2011

We’ve been having a lot of sunshine this autumn (even though there will always be those customers who whine about how we have “horrible weather all the time” if it rains for half a day), and the day I went to the botanical garden, early in October was one of those wonderful sunny days.

The entrance area was decorated for autumn:

The grasses really stand out this time of year:

Even when they’re half-hidden behind flowers:

The Willowleaf Sunflower looks a bit messy, leaning all over the place like that, but I’m still a little in love with it…

I think this was the first time I’ve ever seen a toad lily in real life:

Japanese Anemones, on the other hand, I’ve seen many, many times, and I still love them. I think I’ve loved them from the time I was five and saw them growing outside my kindergarten (what does it say about me that the thing I remember most clearly about it is what flowers grew next to the front door?) – a big part of their charm is how “simple” they look – just how a five-year-old girl draws flowers!

And I like how this picture turned out – every once in a while, my camera still consents to take a good picture.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. November 6, 2011 15:22

    I wish toadlily would do something other than get eaten for me… They’re so pretty! Apparently they’re plenty tasty too though 😦

  2. November 7, 2011 19:03

    So by never having seen it for sale, I’ve actually been saved from disappointment?

  3. October 9, 2012 09:50

    The toad lilly is beautiful, and a good autumn flowerer, but the slugs and snails do love them. If you look after them for their first year, while they are getting established, they will be fine after that.

Leave a Reply

