Skip to content

Cheated Again!

November 9, 2011

I bought myself a Hippeastrum bulb when I was in Amsterdam.

This is what made it so irresistible:

I’ve wanted a Hippeastrum papilio since I first saw one at the botanical garden.

Umm…

Not fair.

I did not want this – in fact, a plain red one was the last thing I wanted. And I don’t even have any birthdays I need presents for, this time of year.

Well, I guess I get what I deserve for buying something in a touristy place like the flower market in Amsterdam. The Cycas doesn’t seem to want to grow, either.

Oh well. In Florence, it was an ice cream cone for ā‚¬ 10, in Amsterdam it was pointless bulbs for the same amount… I guess I can live with that. But I still want to get rid of that plant.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. November 10, 2011 03:04

    That stinks. I’m always so nervous buying an Amaryllis out of bloom…I just bought two for $15 each and they better be what they claim to be! One is Red Pearl (velvety dark red) and Neon Rose (bright pink mini). I’m not sure I can handle waiting for them to bloom!

  2. November 10, 2011 08:06

    I think I’ve got to stop buying them as bulbs. But – you know – this was the Netherlands, where all the damn bulbs come from! You’d think they’d get it right there… but of course, I was just one more silly tourist – can sell them all sorts of crap, they won’t be able to come back and complain.

  3. November 12, 2011 05:45

    Didn’t this place also claim to have blue ones? We should have been suspicious right there….

    • November 12, 2011 09:11

      True, that was also at the market – different stall, though, so I was hoping they wouldn’t all be such cheaters. Well, no more impulse shopping at the Bloemenmarkt.

  4. November 13, 2011 05:24

    You have no idea what an odd relief this is for me…I’m no longer quite so insanely jealous of your trip there šŸ˜€ Actually I’m still a little jealous even if it did turn out to be a bit…less than reputable perhaps

Leave a Reply

