Skip to content

Garden Bloggers’ Bloom Day – November 2011

November 15, 2011

Considering it’s November, there still are a lot of flowers at the Nettle Nest.

Plenty of violas out on the windowsills:

The snapdragon still hanging in there:

The Salvias (yes, I know it’s a crappy picture, and no, I don’t care):

Even the crazy peppers are still blooming on:

Inside, the Sedums in the vase totally count, because they’re rooting, and I’m planning to keep them. Yes, because I need more stuff on my balcony.

The Ceropegia sandersonii is kind of an old hat, because I don’t think it has ever not bloomed:

The rosemary and the Tradescantia heard GBBD was approaching, and said, “hey, we want to play too!”

And of course, the Christmas/Thanksgiving cacti!

No wonder they’re the winners of the houseplant tournament over at Plants are the Strangest People – at least, I assume they are, I’m writing this on Sunday night, and it’s looking good for them.

I developed the odd habit of cheering on my favourites while I voted – Schlum-ber-ger-a! Schlum-ber-ger-a!

They’ve bloomed quite well for me this year – the pink one is still going strong, the others are mostly done. I was especially happy with the pink and the red one – passalongs from my grandmother and mother, they may sprawl all over the place, but they had a lot of buds, and didn’t drop a single one when I moved them from the bedroom to the living room where I could enjoy the flowers. The yellow and red-and-yellow ones, which I bought… uh… last year? two years ago? … they may have a nice compact growth habit, but they didn’t have nearly as many flowers, and on the yellow one, several shrivelled up when I moved it.

And I want more! Four just aren’t enough! I still haven’t got any cuttings of my mother’s white one, and the next time we visit the grandparents, I need to check if my gran has any I don’t have yet.

If you’ve got the time, check out what’s blooming for everyone else over at May Dreams Gardens – I’m afraid I won’t have time, with work and NaNoWriMo and workshops to attend…

4 Comments leave one →
  1. November 15, 2011 18:13

    Nice blooms, Ivy!

  2. November 17, 2011 10:56

    Your Schlumbergeras are just lovely and so are your Violas. Great blooms for GBBD.

  3. November 17, 2011 20:19

    Lovely post…I’ve never seen Ceropegia sandersonii before…so cool!

    • November 17, 2011 23:30

      One of my best finds in the last years – cool and uncomplicated!

Leave a Reply

