Skip to content

Hibernation!

November 24, 2011

No, not here on the blog, don’t worry! But I’m done with work for this year. I still have four and a half days of vacation time to use up, and then the Teeny Tiny Village Nursery will be closed for the winter, and I’ll be officially unemployed until January (I just tried to register for unemployment money, which I can apparently do online, but I can’t remember my password, or even my user name… so I’ll have to have to bike over to the district capital after all.)

I can’t say I’m sad about being unemployed – I’ve been looking forwards to having time to write, blog, read, knit, unpack those last few boxes in the storage room, sort through old story notes, repot, take cuttings, work on my languages (real and imaginary), come up with Christmas presents, try to find a new camera, buy new work clothes, wander around bookshops and garden centres…

But today, I’m happy just to curl up in a warm spot and do nothing. The last two days have been quite cold – 0°C (32°F) at most – so naturally, we had to work outside, fixing the side vent of one of the hoop houses. Despite wearing gloves, I don’t think my fingers have been this cold in years – so cold they didn’t even hurt any more, and when I came home yesterday, they felt kind of stiff and swollen for the rest of the day.

So today, I’m just enjoying an evening snuggled up in a nest of cushions next to the radiator in the living room, and then tomorrow, I can tackle my long list of projects – not really such a restful hibernation after all!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. November 24, 2011 19:38

    I know the feeling of stiff and swollen fingers very well. Sometimes get it when I’m not careful and the stiffness is almost standard in winter. But my fingers are more often cold than not…

    And rest? Pfft, who needs rest! You better catch up with me on NaNo… And for December, try to go full-time with writing? 😛 You don’t want to get rusty, after all.

  2. November 24, 2011 20:03

    I used to have cold hands and feet a lot – but not any more since I started to work. Now they’re only cold if it’s actually cold!

    I don’t think I’ll write full time – too many other plans! – but I’m certainly planning to keep writing. I’ve been doing far too little of that this year, but NaNo has taught me that yes, I can still do it even while working full time.

  3. November 28, 2011 03:07

    I too am looking forward to a few months of unemployment! After the Thanksgiving holiday I’ve completely lost my will to work. ::sigh::

    • November 29, 2011 00:25

      I’ve been so fed up with it for the last couple of weeks – making advent wreaths is definitely not my favourite task, and fixing side vents in the cold isn’t any better.

Leave a Reply

