Skip to content

Harvest Monday – November 28, 2011

November 28, 2011

Even shorter this week – we had a couple of cold nights, and the fleece-wrapped oca plant finally turned to mush, so I finally dug up the tubers:

30 g. Not exactly impressive, but then I planted it pretty late, too (I got the plant in late June). And it’s a hell of a lot more than what I got last year – six tiny tubers, smaller than the smallest ones this year, and then I let part of them freeze and accidentally squashed the last of them (with my laptop, I think).

I’d tried to root some cuttings so I could eat all the tubers instead of saving them for next year, but they wouldn’t root – instead, they grew tiny little tubers before they rotted.

I don’t know what they taste like yet, but they’re certainly pretty!

~*~*~*~

Don’t forget to look at the other harvests at Daphne’s Dandelions!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. maryhysong permalink
    November 29, 2011 06:47

    Oh how fun! I’m wanting to try them; where did you get your tubers?

    • November 29, 2011 13:25

      From an Austrian seed saving organisation – I can’t say where else you’d get them.

  2. December 1, 2011 01:03

    Never heard of oca plant, must google to learn more.

  3. December 5, 2011 07:40

    I have never heard of these before. Thanks for sharing!

    Lynn

Leave a Reply

