Skip to content

NaNoWriMo Week 4: Progress and Procrastination

November 29, 2011

The good news:

I reached 50 K just before midnight on Saturday. It’s been much, much easier than I thought, considering this is the first time I’ve done NaNo while working, and the first time I’ve done it living on my own. I guess there’s truth in that saying, if you want something done, give it to a busy person.

And it feels good to get back into the habit of writing regularly. For most of the past year, I’ve been waiting for “the right time”… the day when I have nothing else that needs to be done, and I’m not tired, and in the right mood, and…

But the perfect moment never comes. I had to learn to make the best of the time I’ve got.

The bad news:

Now that I’m no longer working, I have a bad case of procrastinitis. “Oh, I’ve got all day to write. I’ll start in a bit… I just want to go for a walk now. And eat something. Check my e-mail. Read a little. Oops, it’s 10 PM already? Well, I guess I’d better start writing then… but I need to finish reading this chapter, and check my e-mail, and put on some music, and get a snack, and look up some completely unnecessary thing…” (By the way, if anyone looked at my search history, they would be forced to draw incorrect conclusions about my sexuality… but I guess that’s still better than those people whose search terms make them look like serial murderers, right?)

I’m not sure I have anything interesting to say about the actual story. I’ve explored Kivailo orphanages, and a tiny Ternin village in an area inhabited almost exclusively by Kivailo. When I finally got Theresa and Sophie to stop snogging (a little awkward to write, that, since I’m sadly lacking in experience here), I got to explore Theresa’s family a little, too. Julius is mad at Sanna for ruining his life by getting pregnant and forcing him to hide that the child is his (ah, he is just such a complete arsehole- so much fun to write)… but at the same time, feeling a little conflicted – on the one hand, the child is a dirty Kivailo bastard, and he doesn’t want anything to do with it. But on the other hand, it’s his, his first child, and he’s not only an arsehole, he’s possessive arsehole, too.

I’ve also let him bump into Sophie at the pub again… ah, it’s so much fun to have Sophie yell at him (without yet knowing what an arsehole he truly is, yet). The scene would, however, be much improved if I used the right words.

… than you can imagine with your sorry little brine!

His imagination would probably work better if he used a brain. (And sorry, Melange, I don’t think I have any typos that I haven’t posted on the forum yet… although, the saddest part is, they’re not even typos – I do that while writing by hand.)

Her eyes twitched upwards at that

Other people might use their eyebrows instead, but okay, whatever.

I seem to have a problem with body parts this year. This also explains older stuff like

She put her harm on the table

If you can’t decide between “hand” and “arm”, just combine them.

I’m also having a problem with names. People end up being called Mr Somebody and Whatshername because I don’t want to stop and think about names, and then there’s stuff like,

Theresa and Sophie were shooed right back out of the kitchen, along with Thomas and his wife, who needs a name, well, let’s call her Dora for now, that’s what find and replace is for, and does this count as breaking the fourth wall?

Why don’t I ever produce any spectacular and hilarious fourth wall breakages like this:

One of the many things taped to my handwriting folder. Cracks me up every time.

Random funny thing that happened today: Scribbling awayon Theresa’s storyline in the doctor’s waiting room (hoping to find out why one of my fingers is all swollen, without any reason I could see), I was eavesdropping on the couple sitting across from me – and it turned out the woman was called Theresa as well! So hard not to burst out laughing!

I guess I’ll leave it at that for today. Like I said in an earlier post, I’ll try to keep doing weekly posts on my story scribbling.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. November 30, 2011 19:38

    Yay, weekly story updates!

    Yes, these “typos” are strangely boring compared to your usual stuff. And I think you got something wrong with the eyebrows one. It already says eyebrows in the quote when it was meant to be a typo? Does that qualify for anti-joke? 😐

    Anyway, I’d love to come over to your cozy apartment and make you write! I want to finish my story too! So holding NaNoFiMo meetings might be a good idea?

  2. November 30, 2011 19:51

    Gah, yes, that was supposed to be “eyes”! How often do you have to edit a post to add a typo?

    And if you’re in town, you’re definitely welcome!

  3. December 1, 2011 03:03

    Is it just me or did November fly by?

Leave a Reply

