Skip to content

Story-Scribbling Sunday – December 4, 2012

December 4, 2011

Done with NaNoWriMo, and on to NaNoFiMo (National Novel Finishing Month)! This is the first time in my four years of doing NaNo that I’ve not dropped the story on December 1st and run off to write something else – this time, I want to stick with it, want to finish it while the story is still fresh in my mind. I want to keep on writing through December, and January, and beyond, to work on “Goblins” for however long it takes to finish it, and then go on to work on something else. I want to write every day, even if it’s only a few lines, I want to make writing a part of my everyday life again, not just some hobby that I’ll take up in some mythical future “when I’ve got the time”.

This is pinned to the cork board in my kitchen. I need to take it to heart again.

Four days into December, I’ve already failed at the “write every day” thing. Not a word yesterday – after we’d spent several hours talking and eating delicious cookies with two other NaNo participants, my best friend decided to spend the night at the Nettle Nest,  which is always fun – and yesterday we were laughing so hard as we were making fun of various books that we were actually rolling around on the floor – but doesn’t leave time for writing.

There’s not much to report about the story. Julius’s and Sanna’s child was finally born, and while Julius is pretending it’s not his child, and telling himself he doesn’t care, either, he can’t quite stop thinking about the fact that this is his firstborn son. Possessive bastard that he is, it bothers him to see Sanna’s husband being treated as the father.

I’ve got so much time, and spend so little of it writing. Part of the time is spent on story-related research, mostly online, but I also spent some time digging around for my birth certificate. But I’m also trying to read more, and I’ve taken up knitting again, both of which kind of interferes with writing.

And I sleep an awful lot. And have odd dreams. Last night, I dreamed I was back at grammar school, and my Arts teacher told us we had to write a story as homework. Then he turned around to write the topic on the blackboard: “Sex slave.”

So many questions, now that I am awake: Why do we have to write something for Arts? Shouldn’t we be painting? And since when do we get homework in Arts? And is that essay topic even allowed?

In the dream, however, all that didn’t bother me at all. I just thought, “Oh, I’ll just hand in the first Julius chapter.”

… if my soul hadn’t been eaten by a hamster many years ago, I would say NaNoWriMo has eaten my soul…

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

