Skip to content

November at the Botanical Garden

December 21, 2011

Yes, I know… three weeks into December. A month after I took the pictures. I haven’t even worked in that month, so I can’t even claim I didn’t have time. Pure and simple laziness…

Anyway. It’s been grey and rainy for weeks, not even cold enough for snow, just dark, wet and disgusting – hard to believe that a month ago, it was so sunny and exceptionally dry, so that I was actually hoping for rain.

Hard to believe that a month ago, I was walking past colourful flowerbeds:

Hard to believe that a month ago I was wading through rustling leaves in the sunshine, and taking silly pictures of my feet:

Hard to believe that the botanical garden’s Schlumbergeras are so ugly:

There was nothing very interesting in the greenhouses. A few of the camellias blooming already, a few unremarkable orchids, a few butterfly cocoons…

Outside, colourful berries:

I also found the medlar (Mespilus germanica) tree full of fruit and picked a few – first time I’ve ever eaten medlars. They don’t look very appetising – a brown mush that you pretty much have to suck/lick out of the fuzzy brown skin, and spit out the seeds, but I found them yummy – Wikipedia compares the taste to apple sauce, my immediate association was baked apples (which I’ve been meaning to make ever since, but still haven’t gotten around to). I wish I’d picked more, and medlars are definitely on my must-have list for when I have a garden again. They’re pretty little trees, too.

Talking about pretty, I don’t usually care much for roses, but ‘Mozart’ is a pretty one, a huge plant full of tiny hips and little flowers:

6 Comments leave one →
  1. December 21, 2011 23:46

    I like your berry photos!

  2. December 22, 2011 16:11

    What on Earth is that last berry photo?!

    • December 22, 2011 16:11

      Nevermind…I just hovered over the picture and it says it’s a clerodendrum!

  3. December 22, 2011 16:12

    er…Clerodendron? I don’t actually know which is the proper term…stupid latin names/mispronounciations/hard to spell words

    • December 22, 2011 18:41

      Me neither – I’ve read both versions, and it’s driving me crazy because I don’t know what’s right.
      … OK, just looked it up, and -um is the newer, correct spelling.

      Seems like a neat plant, in any case – I’d never seen it before!

Leave a Reply

