Skip to content

And I Call Myself a Reader?

December 25, 2011

I’m not happy with how much I’ve read this year. I’ve kept track of what I’ve read for three years now, and the numbers have gotten lower each year. (My lists actually go from winter solstice to winter solstice, so they don’t exactly match up with the calendar years, but it’s just easier to say/write “in 2011” than “between Dec. 21st, 2010, and Dec. 21st, 2011”.)

In 2009, I read a total of 89 books, 58 in German, and 31 in English. Only 18 of them were rereads (and most of those only because I was getting ready to read the next part in the series) leaving 71 new books.

In 2010, 71 books in total, 37 in German and 34 in English. 26 rereads, partially the series thing again (I like to have everything fresh in my mind), and partially because I was trying to decide whether I wanted to keep them or give them away, so only 45 new books. Language-wise, it’s a rather even split, and spring 2010 marks the time when I started to read more English books than German ones.

And in 2011, only 63 books, 35 in German and 28 in English. 23 of them rereads, so only 40 new books. Twice I just barely made my minimum goal of 11 books a season. I posted about spring here, but summer was no better.

1. Melanie Rawn, Sonnenläufer  (Dragon Prince) (new, German): Meh. I couldn’t help feeling indifferent about the characters… not sure if its worth finishing the series.

2. Anne McCaffrey, Elizabeth Ann Scarborough, Acorna’s People (reread, English): I was wrong in the post about spring  – this was the book my best friend had. I stand by what I said: totally ridiculous – but so ridiculous it’s good again.

3. Anne McCaffrey, Elizabeth Ann Scarborough, Acorna’s World (new, English): Unicorns. In space.

4. Arne Dahl, Totenmesse [Requiem] (new, German): I don’t remember where I picked this up (the flea market? Borrowed?), or what it was about. Detective novels don’t tend to stick in my brain.

5. J.K. Rowling, Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone (reread, English): Do I have to say more about it?

6. Guy Deutscher, Through the Language Glass (new, English): A rare bit of non-fiction – it’s about how the language we speak influences the way we see the world – a topic that interests me, because I know I think different things in different languages (mostly because different languages make different puns possible, though), and because I like learning languages and making up languages. I liked his writing style, too – I like writers who make me laugh.

7. – 11. J.K. Rowling, Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets, Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban, Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire, Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows, Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix (rereads, English): my best friend and me were having a “Harry Potter movie nag-a-thon” in preparation for the second part of Deathly Hallows – I reread the books and then we watched the films together and I kept up a constant stream of grumpy comments. We  ran out of time and I needed to read DH again while the film was still in the cinemas (we went on the very last weekend they showed it), so I read a little out of order. And I think we all know I love Harry Potter.

I think part of the blame for this low book-count can go to the Italy trip (I’ll finish that story one day…), when I of course couldn’t bring any books… but only a small part. Much more must be blamed on plain laziness and too much internet.

Autumn was better. But I think I’ll do a separate post for that – this is getting kind of long. And I have books waiting for me!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. December 25, 2011 09:36

    You read a lot! I dont have much time to read….

    • December 25, 2011 13:35

      I know I can read three times as much, so to me 11 books in 3 months isn’t really a lot…

  2. December 25, 2011 17:56

    I’d been slacking off on my reading too. Reading books, that is — I read a LOT on the internet. I’ve gotten much more book reading done this past year since I bought an ereader. Also, I discovered the e-audiobooks available from my library (Yay! I can read and do needlework at the same time!)

  3. December 25, 2011 20:53

    I’ve never tried e-books, but I don’t really want to, either. Audiobooks, I’ve tried, because I once thought I could listen while working/gardening (that was when I still had a garden), but I’m too easily distracted by a voice or dialect I don’t like (I’m Austrian, audiobooks are usually read by Germans, and I just don’t like “German” German.), so I gave up on that as well. Luckily, I can at least read and knit at the same time.

Trackbacks

  1. Back to the Books « Letters & Leaves
  2. Book Review Backlog – Autumn 2013 | Letters & Leaves

Leave a Reply

