Skip to content

January Calendar Picture

January 1, 2012

Happy new year, everyone!

One of my favourite amaryllis pictures – I like the warm colours. I took it soon after I moved to the Nettle Nest, in my freshly painted bedroom (as you can see, I don’t like white walls). The plant was rescued from the Teeny Tiny Village Nursery, where would have been thrown out when it was done blooming.

 

Like last year, I made calendars for myself and my family, but this year, it was a little more chaotic and rushed – getting pictures printed just before the shops closed for the holidays, and printing the calendar pages and putting everything together the last night before we went to visit relatives. That also involved a long, boring battle with my printer, and basically printing every page twice before I got it looking right… and I never feel comfortable using it for too long at a time. I dropped a chocolate egg into it earlier this year, and never got it out, and I always worry that it’ll melt if I print too much and the printer gets hot.

But it went all right in the end, and everyone was happy to get a new calendar, and I like the challenge of finding twelve picture of houseplant flowers.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. January 3, 2012 00:54

    Such a pretty amaryllis!

  2. January 3, 2012 02:32

    You dropped a chocolate egg into your printer? And it’s still there? Silly girl!

    • January 3, 2012 10:22

      I tried to get it out right away, but ended up just pushing it in deeper, and now I can’t reach it. And these stupid new-fangled printers can’t be taken apart, either. (I almost miss my first printer, even though it was a piece of rubbish.)

  3. January 3, 2012 20:12

    Liza said pretty much exactly what I was too afraid to say.

  4. January 3, 2012 20:25

    That is hilarious. I almost wonder if you should let it melt itself out of there, maybe with a hair dryer or something.

    • January 4, 2012 03:14

      Apart from the fact that I don’t own a hair dryer, and that it’s wrapped in foil, and I’m not sure it’d even come out, I don’t really want to risk molten chocolate stickying up the inside of my printer.
      The silliest part is that I’d just bought that printer a few weeks before that happened, after my old one quit working, possibly because something was stuck inside it. I’m very, very careful about always closing the paper slot now!

  5. January 3, 2012 22:52

    Scratch and sniff term paper?

Leave a Reply

