Skip to content

Flower Power

January 13, 2012

The hippies are back!

That is, the Hippeastrums.

I went down to the cellar for an apple, and came back with this:

I brought up the ‘Bogota’ when I spotted a bud coming up before Christmas, and gave it away as a gift, but now ‘Lima’ – which I’m not going to give away – has a bud too, and many of the others are showing leaf-tips, so it’s time to bring them up into the warmth and the light.

Uh… OK, so the basket is still standing in the windowless hallway, because I don’t yet know where the fluttering flaming to put them. But I will put them in a lighter place, I will! At least ‘Lima’ has already made it onto a windowsill, even if I can hardly see it right now:

… and that is visible only if I stand on tip-toe and stick my head in between the Monstera obliqua  and a Dracaena.

And that basket was not even all of it. I’ve been buying, too.

‘Supreme Garden’ is a whole clump of bulbs, supposedly with small red flowers. It’s been slow (I’ve had it for a month), but I’m seeing several flower buds now, and lots of leaf-tips. (All the glittery stuff fell out of one of the Christmas cards I got – things like that usually end up in a flower pot here in the Nettle Nest.)

‘Fresh Lemon’ yesterday – the light is a little crazy on this one, but that’s what happens if you take pictures in a ‘jungle’ on a sunny day!

‘Fresh Lemon’ today. The greenish tinge of the flowers seems more noticeable in the pictures than in real life, but maybe that’s just because there is so much green surrounding them that they look very white by contrast. At least they’re smallish flowers – I like those better. Although the big ones aren’t that bad either – I guess I just love amaryllises in general.

I have a new miniature amaryllis, too:

Typical. Once again not the colour it was tagged as – it was supposed to be pink. I was half-hoping that if it was something else, it’d be red-and-white, but no, I get another plain boring red one. Meh. But at least it’s a miniature.

And a couple of pictures from last year that I don’t think I ever got around to posting:

I love buds at least as much as I love flowers – it’s just fascinating to watch them grow and open. I was trying to take a picture every day, but there might be one missing in the middle. (The dates on my pictures are messed up – I don’t always bother to set it right after I’ve put in new batteries, so a lot of pictures are supposedly from January 2006.)

3 Comments leave one →
  1. January 14, 2012 05:59

    I wish I could mail you a bulb…I’ve got a good source for pink minis!

    • January 14, 2012 10:52

      Oh, we do have them here – but the few I could definitely see were pink were already in full bloom, and I couldn’t transport them on the bike without damaging them. Ah well – maybe I’ll get lucky next winter!

  2. January 14, 2012 17:29

    So pretty!

Leave a Reply

