Skip to content

Garden Bloggers’ Bloom Day – January 2012

January 15, 2012

I’ve been lazy about taking pictures this month. Reading good books will do that to me, and now that I’ve pulled myself away from my book for a bit, it’s too dark for any good or even decent pictures. But oh well. You know what violas look like. Red and blue at the bedroom and kitchen windows, blue and yellow at the living room window, blooming happily all through this non-winter.

A couple of last flowers on the Albuca spiralis, but no picture of them.

I’ve posted about my amaryllises just two days ago, but I’ll cheat by posting those pictures again.

And I do have a couple of pictures from about a week ago – little has changed at the bedroom window in that time.

Only a single flower on the Clivia – all the other buds were damaged when the plant got too cold or too dry, possibly both. Repeatedly. I’m not always a good plant-mummy. But even that one flower is enough for me to know that, yes, I can make Clivias rebloom, so as ugly as the plant looks right now, it’ll be allowed to stay for another year.

My Schlumbergera x buckleyi is also blooming – this probably shouldn’t make me want to gloat most childishly, but it does. And unlike last year, when I got one measly flower, I had quite a lot of buds this year. OK, so it dropped several, but I still got a couple of flowers. Sadly, none of them has been quite as perfect as the flower I saw when I got my cuttings.

I’m thinking I’ll put in a hook above the bedroom window and put that plant in a hanging basket. I don’t think it likes being squashed in between my other holiday cacti on the windowsill, and I can’t see much of it, either.

As always, don’t forget to check out the flowers other gardeners are sharing over at May Dreams Gardens.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. January 15, 2012 19:01

    Very pretty blooms for GBBD. Houseplants to the rescue for winter bloom and color!!!!

  2. January 15, 2012 19:12

    Your house plants look lovely and healthy too. I do not do well with house plants so my clivia and Christmas cactus have to live outside in protected places. I even planted some amaryllis bulbs in the ground a couple of years ago and they did fine except the snails loved them!

    • January 15, 2012 23:28

      That would definitely not work in my climate, so I guess I’m lucky I’m generally good at caring for houseplants (if sometimes a little lazy, so they get left out and not watered for too long…)

  3. January 16, 2012 03:47

    Well, you can gloat – mine didn’t bloom at all, but I figured out what I was doing wrong, so hopefully next year that will all change. Happy GBBD!

Leave a Reply

