Skip to content

Story-Scribbling Sunday – January 15, 2012

January 15, 2012

On and on, slowly, slowly. I kept on writing despite going back to work, but skipped Wednesday, because I felt just dreadful and fell asleep right after dinner (I couldn’t even make myself go to bed. Instead I just curled up on the couch.) Right now it’s hard to resist the temptation of books to read and playing with the new plotbunny, but I’m making myself stick to “Goblins”.

The argument I was looking forwards to writing didn’t turn out as bad as I’d intended – I was just too tired after work to get my characters in a proper temper, and I also have a really hard time writing Theresa when much of her motivation comes from her faith.

It’s funny. I have absolutely no problem with Lionno in “Masks”, even though he is also very religious, and doesn’t quite understand how others can not be. Theresa is quite similar in that, but I can not write her convincingly. The one difference? Theresa is Catholic, while Lionno is Nalanist. I suppose Nalanism, or Daenay, the Kivailo religion, contains much of what I wish I could believe in, so I suppose that’s what helps me write Lionno.

But Catholicism? I was nominally Catholic for most of my life, but haven’t believed any of it since primary school. In fact, when I took a “what should your religion be?” quiz, Roman Catholic came up as the very last of about 27 options. For some reason, I find that extremely amusing.

Anyway. That’s one thing I need to work on, writing religious (and non-Nalanist) characters convincingly. Maybe I’ll do that next week. And maybe I’ll blow up some things. But now, I must cook dinner and stick my nose back into my delicious book.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

