Skip to content

Harvest Monday – January 30, 2012

January 30, 2012

I’m not harvesting a lot at this time of year, but there are always small, oddly shaped kohlrabis when I need them, and a few tiny little carrots are left, too.

80 g of kohlrabi last week (300 g so far this year – it’s been a while since I bothered with a Harvest Monday post), and 40 g of carrots – not much, but delicious!

We’re supposed to get some hard freezes this week… I wonder if I should harvest the rest of the kohlrabis…

9 Comments leave one →
  1. January 31, 2012 04:27

    That is one funky Kohlrabi. I’ve heard a little frost helps Kohlrabi to be sweeter?? But mine have never made it that long, they are usually on the plate as soon as they get big enough to eat!!

  2. January 31, 2012 07:02

    Never tried Kohlrabi but those carrots sure are cute. I planted purple dragon carrots for the first time this year and I am still waiting.

    • January 31, 2012 14:09

      Purple carrots are fun – I put them in chicken soup once and the whole soup turned out purple!

  3. January 31, 2012 14:01

    Nice pic! We aren’t a big fan of kohlrabi around here. I may give it another try though.

    • January 31, 2012 14:07

      I’ve had this pic in my head for a long time before I actually harvested the carrotlets for it. 🙂

  4. February 1, 2012 05:45

    awwwww adorable!

  5. February 2, 2012 21:54

    I haven’t had much luck with kohlrabi; I think I just haven’t hit on the right planting time and of course the USDA planting schedule for my area does not include such unique veggies!

  6. February 6, 2012 02:52

    Nice harvest! 🙂

    Lynn

Leave a Reply

