Skip to content

Story-Scribbling Sunday – February 12, 2012

February 12, 2012

Still crawling along at a snail’s pace. I kind of don’t want to write the confrontation that will have to happen when Julius admits that he is the father of Sanna’s child. So I write extremely slowly, putting off the unavoidable… but tomorrow I will finally have to write it.

I thought I’d translate one of the Kivailo legends I found in the story-box so I’d have something to show today, but it turns out the thing is longer than I thought it was. I do not want to translate all five pages today.

It’s an interesting experience, though. Not the translating so much (although that is surprisingly hard – I keep having to look up words, which never happens to me if I just write in English in the first place), but reading the story again. I hadn’t looked at it for several years, and even when I found it again, I didn’t really read it. I thought I could have written it again if I had lost it (the print-out I’m translating from is the only copy I still have), but no, I couldn’t. I’m just discovering how much I’ve forgotten. So far, I’ve found surprisingly little that I’d change, and right now I’m not changing anything. If I do post it, I want to post it “straight out of the story-box” (except for the translation).

Oh, and by the way, this is my 333rd post. I like this kind of numbers, and that’s mostly due to the Kivailo, because to them 11, and by extension, 111 and their multiples are sacred numbers.

No comments yet

Leave a comment