Skip to content

Garden Bloggers’ Bloom Day – February 2012

February 16, 2012

A little late this month, because I wasn’t at home yesterday. But even if I’m sometimes late, I don’t think I’ve missed one GBBD in the two years since I started blogging (except for the very first month, when I didn’t know about it yet.)

Anyway… nothing outside today, because even my violas look like they didn’t survive the very cold nights we had. Nothing in the kitchen, because I’m slowly freeing up the windowsill there to sow tomatoes. A few flowers in the bedroom, but crappy pictures, because I was too tired to take better ones after work – it’s my first week back at the Teeny Tiny Village Nursery, which is a little exhausting.

Anyway. In the bedroom:

The second round of blooms on the pink Thanksgiving cactus from Gran – it had lots more buds, but they froze when I opened the window for just a few minutes when it was so cold – I could kick myself!

The Clivia surprised me with a second flower stem:

And since I haven’t pinched my Abutilon back for a while, it also managed to bloom:

In the living room, I found a few flowers on the Begonia corallina when I watered last weekend – I can’t see them right now, because they’re hidden under other plants, but I assum they’re still there.

 

I’m ridiculously excited about the one single flower on my Dendrobium, because that’s the first time an orchid has rebloomed for me. I guess I might have got more flowers if I’d remembered to feed it occasionally.

And plenty of amaryllises. ‘Lima’ finished blooming a couple of days ago, but I’ll include it anyway, because it’s cool (even if the flower stalk grew insanely tall – that Pachira is about 80 cm high!)

After all my bad experiences with mis-tagged amaryllises, ‘Supreme Gardens’ was a nice surprise. It was, again, not quite what was on the tag, but it’s pretty, with the bit of white in the middle, and the red a little pinkish, I don’t even remember how many flower stems from the clump of bulbs, and as many as seven flowers on each stem.

The pinkish tone doesn’t show up well in the pictures (it’s actually kind of hard to see even face-to-face-flower – I spent a lot of time thinking, “Is it pink? Is it red?”), but fortunately, the red miniature sent up a second flower stalk as well (or rather, a third, because the second one had shrivelled up and died), so I could take a picture of both of them together.

And that’s it for this month. If you haven’t already, check out the other GBBD posts at May Dreams Gardens.

12 Comments leave one →
  1. February 16, 2012 19:51

    Wonderful amaryllis. And wonderful site. I’m glad to have found you

  2. February 16, 2012 21:29

    Your amaryllis make me happy! I think I’m going to have to run to the store now and buy a few more (they’re half off and they even still have fun varieties left)! The orchid is really pretty too, congrats on that!

    • February 16, 2012 22:02

      If they’re half off, definitely buy some! (Here, I’ve never seen any marked down. *pout* Not that it’s stopping me from buying far too many!)

      • February 16, 2012 23:22

        Phooey. Between yesterday and today they THREW THEM OUT. Stupid unemployment check…it shoulda come yesterday so I could have bought some. Now I’m on the pouting train with you!

      • February 17, 2012 19:31

        Oh man, that’s really unfair!

  3. February 16, 2012 23:31

    Beautiful indoor plants!
    Great to have a second bloom season on the cactus!
    Lea

  4. February 17, 2012 19:19

    Wow…it’s like and inside garden! Love the Begonia…and those wonderful silver-spotted leaves…nice!

Trackbacks

  1. Too Many Tradescantias « Letters & Leaves
  2. (Very Belated) Garden Bloggers’ Bloom Day – October 2012 « Letters & Leaves

Leave a Reply

