Skip to content

Harvest Monday – March 5, 2012

March 5, 2012

I actually had some harvests last week, in addition to the garden cress and chives that are growing in my kitchen (I harvest one or the other – or both – almost every day).

Last week, cleaning up the balcony garden so I could start planting, I found a few pencil-thin leeks – I don’t think they’ve grown much since I planted them, but to be fair, I planted them very late, and only because I could pick some half-starved plants out of the compost heap at work. Didn’t cost me anything, and I still got a meal out of it, and even though they were tiny, they were delicious.

The leeks went into a quick pasta dish, the carrots I found later in the week – equally tiny-but-delicious – into a soup.

But now there will be no more harvests for a few weeks – everything that I planted last year is gone, and the new crops are only just sprouting.

 

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Andrea permalink
    March 5, 2012 23:35

    Hi, new to your blog via Daphne’s. Amazing what you can grow with limited space. Love leeks and carrots, so tasty. good luck with your lot of seedlings.

  2. March 6, 2012 01:58

    Anything home grown even tiny ones are a great deal tastier than store bought.

  3. March 6, 2012 04:54

    My carrots were a late planting and pretty small too, but there’s always next time! In the meantime, every bite grown at home is one more bite I didn’t buy at the store!

  4. March 7, 2012 06:59

    Exactly! And this year, I’ve sowed some carrots already, so I can hope for bigger ones (can’t let them grow too big, though, because the planter isn’t very deep.)

  5. March 8, 2012 01:09

    I can’t even dream of harvesting anything for a long time still! Once again, *so* jealous!

Leave a Reply

