Skip to content

Not Fair!

March 31, 2012
tags:

I recently bought a Saxifraga stolonifera for a reader who can’t get one locally – she’s getting some of my own plants as well, but since my Saxifraga has no offsets yet, and I found them as easy-to-mail “miniature” plants (and she bought me oca bulbs and some really neat vegetable seeds), I offered to buy one for her.

I found one pot that had two plants in it already, while my own had only one – that was already a little unfair. (Just kidding! I’m not actually jealous. Well, not much. 🙂 )

But this? This is really unfair:

The mean little thing is growing a flower spike!

Which is doubly unfair: We’re having a cold spell right now, so I won’t be able to send the plants soon (the Saxifraga might be able to handle it, but not the other plants), and by the time it gets warm again, the flower stalk will probably be so high that I’ll have to cut it off to pack the plant. And it will probably not be blooming yet, either, so neither neither of us will get to see the flowers.

Seriously, seriously unfair!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. March 31, 2012 23:42

    Wait to send it until after it blooms? Surely your blog-friend would be understanding if they’re a plant person!

  2. penny permalink
    April 1, 2012 12:15

    So lovely to see a photo of my wee plant! And as it’s clearly so eager to please I’m sure it will flower for both of us. Yes (re Tom) wait until after it has bloomed to send if you like – no problem.

  3. penny permalink
    April 1, 2012 12:33

    Forgot my manners due to excitement! – many thanks for the photo and words.

    • April 1, 2012 15:32

      Well, my manners aren’t the best, either – I guess it would have been more polite to tell you first, but I’m always a bit pressed for time right now, so I decided to tell the story only once.

Trackbacks

  1. Whee! « Letters & Leaves

Leave a Reply

