Skip to content

Harvest Monday – April 2, 2012

April 2, 2012

Wheee, I get to play again! Almost exactly a month after I started planting and sowing, the first harvests from the 2012 balcony garden!

I really needed to thin the Asian greens in the window boxes at the kitchen and bedroom windows, so the ones I pulled out went right into the salad bowl. (One of my biggest problems is that I always, always sow far too much of everything. Ah well… I’m still young. Plenty of time left to learn, right?)

Ah, the first decent salad in months! (With some Lollo Bionda I got from my mother – she recently signed up for an organic veggie delivery service, and often ends up with too much lettuce, so we share.)

Each of the window boxes yielded enough for one salad – now I’m waiting impatiently for the looseleaf lettuce.

I’ve gone to pick some ramsons once, but only a couple of leaves. I’m a little lazy about foraging this year, there’s so much else I want to do!

Plenty of parsley and chives already, too. It occurred to me that we Austrians seem to eat a lot of things simply on buttered brown bread… sliced radishes, ramsons, garden cress, chives… To me, it’s an absolute necessity if I want to have a boiled egg for breakfast.

Thank you Daphne for continuing to host Harvest Monday for another year!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. maryhysong permalink
    April 2, 2012 21:04

    congrats on your harvests! your salads are looking yummy

  2. April 2, 2012 21:35

    Your salad looks great.

    Sowing too much isn’t always bad. Thinning do taste good and give you and early harvest. I like that with Asian greens. The little babies are such a treat.

  3. April 2, 2012 23:29

    Congrats on the harvest, that looks totally delicious. Love the addition of the flowers in the salad, I need to do that more often.

  4. April 3, 2012 01:26

    That’s a gorgeous looking fresh home grown salad, what a treat.

  5. April 3, 2012 03:01

    Beautiful salad! Every harvest is a good harvest! Enjoy 🙂

  6. April 3, 2012 16:59

    Looks very tasty!

  7. April 4, 2012 22:59

    My first time here and your bread toppings look delicious. I’m going to try that tonight!

    I hope to join the Monday harvest fun next week!

Leave a Reply

