Skip to content

Garden Bloggers’ Bloom Day – April 2012

April 15, 2012

Violas, violas everywhere:

This one was a little hard to get a picture of, I had to climb onto the windowsill and lean out a little - luckily my windowsills are very broad so I didn't need to worry about falling!

This one and the first blue one are both getting a little leggy - I'm feeling a little smug because they're the two plants I didn't buy at work - and none of the plants from work are leggy. Hah - we just have the best violas! (Or had, anyway, we've been sold out for weeks.)

I'm kind of glad the original blue one in the kitchen window box died, because it freed up a spot for 'Twix Coconut Swirl', which turned out to be really cute.

I may have to cut back the ones on the balcony, they're beginning to crowd out the lettuce. But they're so pretty!

I like Viola cornuta because they have smaller flowers than pansies - but now, they seem to be bred for larger and larger flowers, which makes me quite unhappy. This yellow one is the only variety I have this year that still has really small flowers. It's got a really cheerful colour, too, so it's definitely my favourite.

The self-seeded violas in the lovage pot are beginning to bloom, and so far all seem to be white. The tulips in one of the radish bowls are blooming as well, but I’m never home to see them when they are actually open, and I forgot what species/variety they are:

The balcony door is flanked by poppy anemones:

The sages are impatient and can’t wait for summer:

Pineapple Sage

Salvia chamaedryoides (if I identified it correctly, and spelled that right) is kind of hard to photograph, and makes an awful mess, but I love, love, love the colour.

And indoors? The Abutilon in the bedroom:

The Gerbera in the kitchen is miraculously still alive after two months:

And look at this crazy little guy:

Silly little yellow currant tomato can't wait for summer, either - barely 20 cm high and already blooming! Well, I'm not complaining!

In the living room, the ‘Hot Pink’ amaryllis jumped off the windowsill, but the white one is still blooming:

A single bloom on one of the Easter cacti – I think next winter they’ll go back to my mother’s staircase window, I think they liked it better there. This year, I only got two buds on one of my three plants, and none at all on the others.

And my favourite this month: The Saxifraga stolonifera in full bloom now. It’s still too cold to mail the plants, so I get to enjoy it a little longer.

So that’s why it insisted on blooming before I sent it off to the UK – it wanted to participate in GBBD! Well, it definitely deserves that – aren’t those flowers too cute?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. penny permalink
    April 16, 2012 11:12

    Hope this little fella will be as happy living with me as it is with you. Seems almost a shame to part it from you. Almost!

    • April 19, 2012 18:50

      I’ll be sad to say good-bye to it – but I’m sure I’ll eventually get my own to bloom as well.

  2. April 18, 2012 23:20

    Love your pictures. Makes me envious because I can’t do that right now. Did try a couple of things to make my home green, but no room for all that.
    Ruth from At Home on the Road

    • April 19, 2012 18:55

      If it helps any, I’m a little envious of your life, too – but only a little, I don’t think I could really give up my plants/garden.

Leave a Reply

