Skip to content

Harvest Monday – April 30, 2012

April 30, 2012

Lots of salads – right now, eight plants of looseleaf lettuce and two window boxes of Asian greens are a bit too much for one person! I’m also working too much to invite people over to feed them some delicious salads (except on Sunday, when my best friend got to share the big bowl I made).

With the ridiculously hot temperatures we’ve had recently (30 °C/86 °F yesterday), the Asian greens have started to bolt, so I’m harvesting a lot of them to use them up as quickly as possible, almost a quarter kilo this week, and 110 g of lettuce, some parsley and chives again.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. maryhysong permalink
    May 1, 2012 01:03

    Things are bolting all over. I don’t think I could get tired of baby lettuce though. When I had a lot I’d have salad for lunch and dinner, with apples, hard boiled eggs, cheese and pickled olives. Now I have less since it’s getting hot and some has turned bitter and I’m missing it.

  2. May 1, 2012 12:29

    You could stir-fry the matured and bitter leaves just like you would spinach or Swiss chard this takes away the bitterness.

    • May 1, 2012 20:03

      Yes, I took your advice from the previous HM post, and have been stir-frying the pak choi, which was quickest to bolt.

  3. May 2, 2012 15:57

    Pretty salad. I think I’ll be eating some salad for lunch along with some quiche made with bok choy. What you harvested last week, I’m harvesting this week.

    • May 2, 2012 20:15

      Hm, quiche, now there’s an idea… been meaning to learn how to make that. Maybe on Sunday, during the week I simply come home too late to cook a proper meal.

Leave a Reply

