Skip to content

You Know It’s May When…

May 3, 2012

… it takes me two hours simply to find a free moment to take off my sweater.

… it takes me three hours to find the time to drink some water.

… I’m lucky if I get to go to the toilet once during a ten-hour work day (which is kind of uncomfortable when I also drink a whole 1.5 litre bottle of water).

… I have to drink a whole bottle of water because my throat is so dry from constantly talking, talking, talking to customers.

… I start to wonder if I look like three persons instead of one, because people think it’s OK to constantly ask me for stuff while I’m clearly helping another customer, and keep asking even after I have told them I will be with them as soon as I can.

… I discover that testing the sturdiness of old wooden boxes is a wonderful way of releasing the aggression some customers make me feel (because I get to punch the boxes – the ones that stay whole get used again, the ones that break go into the boiler room to be used as kindling)

… I don’t even remember any silly-customer stories because I’m always so busy nothing sticks in my mind for long.

… I’m glad it’s sunny enough that I need to wear a bandana, because I have no time to wash my hair.

… I end the day with telling the boss’s wife, “bye, and hello in case I don’t have time to say it tomorrow” (because every morning, we pass each other several times, but always are too busy talking to customers to say hello to each other.)

… I have absolutely no time to write a proper blog post

Ah, yes, May in the Teeny Tiny Village Nursery is a fun time!

One Comment leave one →
  1. penny permalink
    May 4, 2012 19:18

    Sounds like you need something stronger than water – vodka would work! Not too much mind, or you’ll be seeing three of each customer – I’m rubbish at maths but I think that would make the problem 300% worse! The little plants look so grown up in their new pots – lovely.

Leave a Reply

