Skip to content

Harvest Monday – May 7, 2012

May 7, 2012

Guess what? More Asian greens.

Monday – 120 g.

Wednesday – 120 g.

Saturday – 150 g.

I don’t even remember what I did with the first two harvests. Some sort of quick stir-fry, I guess. I’m working too much to cook much.

Saturday I got home early-ish (after working “only” seven hours… normally I don’t work at all on Saturdays), so I followed Daphne’s suggestion from her comment on last week’s post, and made quiche. For the first time in my life. I’ve actually only ever eaten it once before, too.

I don’t think it’ll be my new favourite dinner, but that might just be because I’m getting a little sick of all these greens!

Plenty of lettuce, too (well – 120 g, but that’s plenty for me!) and the first arugula (80 g), because it was also starting to bolt. Made for some yummy salads.

I think I’ve already almost paid off this year’s expenses for the balcony garden. I can’t say for sure, because I haven’t added some of the most recent purchases to the list yet, and I don’t have prices for some of the things I’ve harvested, but looseleaf lettuce and Asian greens are pretty expensive at the grocery store, and parsley and chives always are reliable money-savers.

 

4 Comments leave one →
  1. May 7, 2012 21:50

    You do have a lot of greens for one week! They look very nice. Not too many ways to eat greens, but their season won’t last forever. That’s the beauty of gardening. Soon as you start to get sick of them, they start to bolt anyway.

  2. May 8, 2012 01:27

    You sure get great harvests from your balcony garden. What will you be planting next in those boxes?

    • May 8, 2012 06:10

      I have no idea yet! Funny, it seems that last year, I never had enough space, and this year I can’t come up with anything to plant there.

  3. May 9, 2012 15:19

    lovely harvest and delicious looking salad! Oh I love quiche! Especially with home grown eggs. I think of it as an omlet in a pie crust 😉 bacon and spinach quiche is a fav around here.

Leave a Reply

