Skip to content

Balcony Garden Update

May 9, 2012

Don’t expect any intelligent posts for a while yet. I wouldn’t even post this if I hadn’t already uploaded these pictures for my German balcony gardening blog (can I brag a bit? If you google for “Balkongemüse” (“balcony vegetables”), my blog comes up on the first page already!), I wouldn’t bother. This way, I only need to copy, paste and translate (and remember to post this to the right blog, which I very nearly didn’t!)

I’ve already moved some stuff around since I took these pictures on Sunday, but mostly it still looks like this:

Looking up from the street:

Can I brag again? I definitely have the prettiest balcony in the building, and probably in the whole street.

Looking out the balcony door:

The west side:

Peas and kohlrabi, and red and yellow currant tomatoes. Peas and tomatoes are all starting to bloom.

Along the railing:

Do I really have to list what I’ve planted here? Yes? Oh, all right: violas, arugula, carrots, turnips, parsley, chives, lettuce, sweet potatoes, rosemary, marjoram, oregano, thyme, lemon thyme, lavender, lemon balm, radishes, borage, basil, savory, sage… I’m sure I’ve forgotten something!

Looking towards the east side:

Another pot of peas and kohlrabi, two pots of peas, and a shopping bag turned into a grow bag – you’re one step ahead of my German readers here, the German blog doesn’t have a post about these bags yet.

Lovage hiding between peas and beans:

The back corner with my pot tower (OK, bad luck for you here, the German blog does have a post about the pot tower that I haven’t gotten around to reposting here yet.)

Two tomato pots still get to stand against the back wall and enjoy the sunshine – soon enough I’ll need to move them towards the railing, where they’ll be in shade until they grow tall enough to peek over the railing.

On the windowsill:

Lettuce/chard planter and radish bowls:

The most problematic bit was that I had so many houseplants already outside that there was hardly any space left to walk, and none to sit.

Most of Sunday’s work was moving stuff around so that I could put the amaryllises up onto the windowsill and free up some floor-space.

But however crowded the balcony is, I always find another corner for a few flowers – I was so excited that we carry Convolvulus sabatius this year (well, we did – it’s sold out now) so of course I had to buy one. I might be a little obsessed with morning glories and their relatives!

So many posts I want to/need to write, and no time to do it! Well, I’d have time today, but I’m not on my own computer, so I can’t upload pictures… bad luck again… actually I have one about my new plants already written, but before I post that, I need to write about where I bought most of them, and I can’t do that without pictures. And anyway I might buy myself another plant before this week is over.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. kennethjamesmoore permalink
    May 9, 2012 20:37

    Beautiful! Jealous of your balcony–you grow so much in so little space!

  2. May 10, 2012 02:48

    It’s already looking so lush and amazing! I don’t even HAVE my community garden plot (I get it tomorrow!) and my tomatoes are still tiny seedlings (but they can’t even go in the ground for 3 more weeks). You’re making me so excited for veggie gardening

Trackbacks

  1. Balcony Garden Update « Letters & Leaves

Leave a Reply

