Skip to content

Harvest Monday – May 14, 2012

May 14, 2012

Greens, greens, greens – 160 g Asian greens, 50 g looseleaf lettuce, 30 g wild rocket – and I’m finally caught up with the Asian greens!  No more emergency meals of bolting I-don’t-even-know-what (Asian greens are still pretty new to me, and I never have the time to get out the seed packets and figure out what is what.) What is pretty awesome is that what I harvest for my salads most evenings sells for € 12 to € 15 a kilo at the grocery store! At that rate, salad greens will be a big money-saver this year!

Chives and parsley, too, but I never weigh them. I just compare the size of the bunches I harvest to the ones sold at the grocery store, which I’ve never weighed either. Not that they can really be compared, anyway. It’s not that they taste better, freshly cut from the balcony – chopping those fresh chives is so much fun, too – they’re so… springy is the best word I can come up with, the pieces literally hop off the chopping board and jump all over the kitchen!

I’m a little embarrassed to admit that I only recently remembered the “proper” method for putting chopped chives on a slice of buttered bread – you don’t sprinkle the chives on the bread, you turn the bread butter-side-down and press it into the chives so they’ll stick to the butter, duh! I guess that shows how long I hadn’t eaten bread-with-chives before starting my balcony garden! Anyway, it is so much prettier this way:

Doesn’t it look great, with those different shades of green? The chives are tasting great, too.

I’ve been harvesting radishes for lunch, too:

The radishes, though, do look better than they taste this year. Actually, the Rainbow Mix pictured here isn’t the most tasty to start with (I know, I know, why do I bother to grow them, then? Well, they’re pretty!), and this year they are full of maggots and spongy. Bah. I’ll still eat whatever is maggot-free, though.

And now, to bed, to bed. Work is still crazy, and it’s late again.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. May 14, 2012 21:28

    I am going to have to have buttered bread with chives! It looks wonderful!

    I honestly can’t believe all the beautiful harvest you get from your balcony garden. You are a true gardener!

  2. May 15, 2012 01:41

    Amazing that you are still harvesting such bounty from your balcony garden, Congrats.

  3. maryhysong permalink
    May 15, 2012 04:51

    Your balcony garden is doing great! I am missing my lettuce already, gone with the heat, and the effect that has on my grocery budget. Either I have to eat something else besides salad for lunch or go back to buying it….

  4. May 15, 2012 16:35

    I didn’t even know there was a proper way to put chives on buttered bread – but now I am going to try this!

  5. May 15, 2012 19:39

    Just wanted to say, I do read and appreciate your comments, but I’m working too much to have time and brain cells left to come up with individual and intelligent replies…

Leave a Reply

