Skip to content

Stupid Ice Saints!

May 19, 2012

The Ice Saints are a couple of days in mid-May on which, supposedly, the last frosts of the spring will occur. It doesn’t happen every year – it didn’t last year (and my records for the years before that are hand-written and I’m too tired to get up and look for them), but this year, they were exactly on time – on May 12th, the temperatures dropped quite a bit. No actual freezes in our area, luckily, but night temperatures did go from cosy 15° C (59° F) to 4° C (39° F). Brr!

My plants made it through astonishingly well – I couldn’t be bothered to bring anything inside. Even the basil, out on the balcony railing, doesn’t seem to have minded. Only that wimpy cucumber:

Even though it was in a sheltered spot, and even though I kept it covered… I don’t think it will recover! And it was such a nice big plant already, too – I made sure to buy one of the very first batch we sowed at work, and when, for a while, it looked as if it would stay warm all through the “Ice Saint” days, I decided to take the chance and put it outside.

Ah well. I bought another one yesterday, and the rest of the vegetable plants I needed – now it had better stay warm for real!

And how can I complain, really, when the beans in the same pot are looking like this:

Maybe I’ll get more than two or three pods this year!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. May 20, 2012 02:24

    I had the same thing happening to me! Twice. But I didn’t have a clue that cukes were that delicate. Last year I sowed my cukes and they were fine. This year I didn’t get to it in time so I bought a plant in April which died shortly after. I thought the soil was bad because I repotted it into a pot in which another plant had died on me a couple of weeks before….

    And about 2 weeks ago I went to a garden center to buy a huge pot of flowers for the birthday of my future mother in law. I couldn’t pass by the cucumber plant pot with 2 plants in it which were also the mini-size variety which would have been perfect for the balcony. Oh well… last weekend I found they died on me, too! I might try once more but then I hope those will do their job and give me some yummy cukes like last year!

    • May 20, 2012 10:09

      Yup, they’re one of the least cold-tolerant plants. Well, at least this year I bought one of the cheap plants, and not a grafted one like last year, which cost about three times as much, and didn’t do well for me.

  2. May 20, 2012 02:49

    I moved a ton of my stuff out…I’m hoping the cold stays away for good! Then again with temps in the 90’s this week I don’t think we’ll be getting any frosts soon.

    • May 20, 2012 10:12

      We did have a couple of nearly-as-hot days in late April… that was some crazy weather!

Leave a Reply

