Skip to content

Harvest Monday – May 21, 2012

May 21, 2012

This week, I harvested the rest of the radishes. Like I said, the “Rainbow Mix” (or whatever it is called) was a real disappointment. The “Riesen von Aspern” in the second bowl were much better. I can understand that they were still tender and crunchy, rather than spongy/woody like the Rainbows, being a different variety and all – but there were also far fewer maggots, which is a little odd considering that the bowls were right next to each other.

Anyway, my daily morning harvest, with the balcony garden in the background:

Lots and lots more salad greens – in addition to my daily side salads for dinner, I made two huge bowls of pasta salad on Monday and Saturday, with fresh lettuce, arugula, wild rocket, Asian greens (a few have re-sprouted), chives, parsley, basil, borage… should I count the edible flowers I decorate my food with? I’ve seen them in one of the larger supermarkets once, and I’m sure they were pretty expensive! All in all, 180 g of lettuce, 40 g arugula, 60 g wild rocket, 20 g Asian greens.

Monday’s harvest:

From the windowsill straight into the salad bowl (with pasta, steamed asparagus, tomatoes, feta and a dressing of olive oil, lemon juice and salt – quick, simple and absolutely delicious!)

And all over again on Saturday – a huge bowl of greens. That bowl is about 30 cm/1 foot in diameter… might seem like a little much for one person…

… even more so when you add pasta, feta and veggies…

… but I devoured almost all of it (leaving only a small serving for the next day). This is why I can only laugh at customers who ask me, “How can you be so skinny? You probably never eat anything.” Hah – I can eat ridiculous amounts of anything, I just happen to enjoy healthy food – and I probably burn quite a lot of calories running around the Teeny Tiny Village Nursery ten hours a day!

Anyway – dinner from the balcony garden, dinner in the balcony garden:

And on Sunday – whee! Snow peas!

Only 10 g, but oh, so delicious! Actually, the smell alone would have been a treat – I had completely forgotten how wonderful fresh peas smell! I had to sit down while harvesting and just smell them for a bit.

I’ve also been harvesting lemon balm, for herbal teas mostly, but I’ve also chopped some and added it to my strawberry yoghurt (the strawberry field is open again – yay!) – that tastes nice, too.

I’ve been lazy about linking back to Daphne’s Dandelions in my last couple of Harvest Monday posts, but I’ll take the time again today – remember to check out everyone else’s harvests, and thanks for hosting, Daphne! I may be a little jealous of your strawberries (only a little – hey, we sell strawberry plants at work!), but I’m ahead with my peas, hah! 😉

8 Comments leave one →
  1. maryhysong permalink
    May 21, 2012 22:02

    wow you really get a lot from your tiny garden! everything looks wonderful!

    • May 22, 2012 06:07

      Yes, the garden is doing quite well right now (hope I’m not jinxing it by saying so!)

  2. May 22, 2012 03:11

    This is the first time I’ve seen your balcony garden as more than closeups. It’s a wonderful place to eat! And so lush. I continue to be amazed at what you can do in your pots!

    • May 22, 2012 06:08

      Pooks, I’ve been taking pictures of the garden this weekend, I hope I can post them in the next couple of days.

  3. May 22, 2012 21:18

    I am so jealous of your snow peas, my planst are only about 1 foot tall a long way to go for harvest. Beautiful radishes,

    • May 22, 2012 22:00

      I’m pretty pleased with my peas this year – I hope they continue to do so well!

  4. May 22, 2012 22:59

    Lovely salads. And I love that you eat right next to the plants.

    • May 23, 2012 06:09

      One of the advantages of a balcony garden – along with being able to eat outside even when it rains.

Leave a Reply

