Skip to content

The Flowers that Missed GBBD

May 24, 2012

Last Sunday was a good day for taking pictures (in between getting a lot of gardenwork done – it’s surprising how much time I can spend working in my tiny balcony garden!), so here are some more flowers:

My much-loved Begonia corallina is blooming again, quite a lot, but the flowers are all out at the ends of very long branches, so it’s impossible to take a picture of all of them at the same time!

A second Easter Cactus decided to bloom after all – four flowers isn’t a lot, but I’m still happy – for a while it looked like I wouldn’t get a single one.

Out on the balcony garden, the last pea variety has started to bloom. ‘Golden Sweet’ is a little odd, the flowers never open more than this.

This is my favourite picture from the last couple of months:

The Gerbera was a birthday gift from my mother – I’m pretty amazed I’ve managed to keep it alive for over three months. Then again, it’s one of the plants that gets most attention here at the Nettle Nest – full sun in a south window, and a bit of water almost every day. It even has its own saucer, instead of having to share with others, like most of my plants do. This is the first flower in a long time that has looked so perfect – most have been a little distorted because aphids were feeding on them.

The Oxalis megalorrhiza was one of the plants I bought at the Arche Noah trade market. I recently moved those plants over to the kitchen as well, where I can keep a closer eye on when they need water (the Oxalis and Ledebouria have both been a little unhappy with me.)

2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 25, 2012 02:09

    eeeeee hatoria!

  2. July 6, 2012 05:17

    Your balcony must be looking very lovely with all these blooms! Thanks.

Leave a Reply

