Skip to content

Harvest Monday – May 28, 2012

May 28, 2012

Salad greens and herbs, I  didn’t even bother to take pictures, and I won’t list the individual amounts – it’s getting a little repetitive.

But: Snow peas! I harvested those for the second time yesterday. And not just measly 10 g, like the last harvest, either!

Well, OK, 10 g of the ‘Ambrosia’s again – and they look about done, so I’m definitely not impressed with that variety. But ‘Golden Sweet’, the yellow variety that I got from the UK (thanks again, Penny!) was ready to pick as well – I planted about the same amount of seeds, but from the ‘Golden Sweet’s I got 90 g! I was a little sorry to pick them, because they looked really pretty:

But they were also a joy to pick. I mean, OK, I needed a stepladder because it’s a pretty tall variety – I think I was standing on a chair to take this picture – but the yellow pods are really easy to find.

For my tiny garden, 90 g of anything is a pretty decent harvest – and by far the biggest pea harvest I’ve had yet. Quite enough for a dinner, too.

The ‘Golden Sweet’s were perfect all around – pretty plants, a good-sized harvest, easy to pick, perfectly shaped, tender and tasty – definitely a keeper! I’ll use up the ‘Ambrosia’ seeds I have, but I doubt I’ll save seed or buy more – with ‘Golden Sweet’, I’ll definitely save seed when I run low!

8 Comments leave one →
  1. May 29, 2012 00:49

    Your peas look wonderful! Great harvest!

  2. May 29, 2012 13:51

    I love peas of any kind but haven’t tried Golden Sweet yet, It’s on my list though!

    • May 29, 2012 21:49

      When you try them, I hope you like them as much as I did! (I have to be honest, I don’t know how they compare in taste to other freshly-picked varieties, but they sure beat store-bought!)

  3. Carol Pettway permalink
    May 30, 2012 17:45

    Are the Golden Sweets an heirloom pea? I have tried Golden India peas this year which is also a yellow pea. I haven’t harvested any yet, but I’m looking forward to trying them. I had never seen the golden ones before.

    • May 30, 2012 18:48

      Carol, I wonder if Golden India mightn’t just be a different name for Golden Sweet? What I’ve seen online looks very similar. It’s a heirloom, in any case. (I hardly buy hybrid/patented varieties any more, and definitely not of plants that are so easy to save seed from. Seed saving is fun, and I’m cutting costs where I can – so I can buy more interesting plants!)

  4. May 30, 2012 22:27

    I’ve debated trying golden sweet…I think you might have convinced me to finally try it!

  5. May 31, 2012 16:00

    I had not seen yellow peas! Nice good size harvest.

Leave a Reply

