Skip to content

Harvest Monday – June 4, 2012

June 4, 2012
tags: ,

Last week wasn’t a good harvesting week. Not because there was nothing to harvest – there would have been plenty – but because I just couldn’t be bothered. All this working overtime was really catching up with me, harvesting anything and then cooking with it, or even just making a salad, seemed like too much trouble (what did I even eat last week? I can’t even remember!)

Anyway, just a bit of lettuce (only one harvest, on Sunday, when I had more or less recovered), some herbs… OK, actually, quite a lot of herbs, I did cut my thyme and lemon thyme to dry (also on Sunday):

There’s also a bit of sage and marjoram – accidental “harvests”, they were tangled up in the lemon thyme and I chopped them off without noticing.

I’m not sure how I’ll count those – weigh them again once they’re dry and look up what dried herbs cost at the store?

Now I really need to use up last year’s dried herbs – I haven’t been using as much as I thought I would!

I have the same problem with the elderflower cordial – it was high time to pick flowers and make cordial, so I did that on Sunday – but I haven’t used up last year’s! So I only made half a batch this year, and am trying to drink more of it (usually I only drink water). No pictures this time, though… I’m still feeling a little lazy/worn-out.

For bigger and better-documented harvests, you’ll have to hop over to Daphne’s Dandelions!

 

(Oh, and anyone want to guess how many species of plants I have in my balcony garden?)

10 Comments leave one →
  1. June 4, 2012 21:24

    Gardening is to be enjoyed. So enjoy your ‘I don’t feel like doing this is the garden today’ days. Herbs are worth their weight in gold….so easy to grow and so expensive at the store.

    • June 4, 2012 21:29

      The problem is just, the gardenwork just keeps piling up when I don’t do it – I have so much to catch up with now!

  2. June 4, 2012 22:39

    Totally agree with Sustainably Modern above, gardening is for enjoyment, if it is stressing you out, then it defeats the purpose.

    • June 5, 2012 06:04

      Gardening wasn’t stressing me out – work was! 😉 But thankfully, that’s over now.

  3. June 5, 2012 03:41

    Gardens are actually incredibly forgiving when life takes us away from it for a while. May not be as tidy as you want – but it will produce. I totally understand the work reality when peak work commitments keep you burning the candle at both ends. Been doing that all spring actually and I am starting to hit the wall from the constancy of it.

    • June 5, 2012 06:08

      If only work was as understanding about gardening commitments, right?

  4. June 7, 2012 00:56

    I’ll guess 23 different types of plants on your balcony!

  5. Ginny Burton permalink
    June 9, 2012 18:35

    I’ll guess — fifteen different species?

  6. maryhysong permalink
    June 9, 2012 21:49

    I think we all have those weeks where we are just not home enough hours in a day to get things done. I just had one of those and am sooo glad it’s over; that’s why it’s taken me until today to see all the harvest posts!

Leave a Reply

