Skip to content

Allowed to Live After All

June 9, 2012
tags:

I’ve been seriously considering leaving my Jasminum polyanthum (Pink Jasmine) outside to freeze this autumn because it just wouldn’t cooperate. I mean, it grew just fine, and had no bug issues that I remember, but it just would not rebloom. I know it needs low  temperatures to induce flowering, but I can only leave it outside for so long before it’d freeze, and I can’t get the temperature in the bedroom down far enough (yes, I’ve actually tried. But the building is too well insulated), and the storage room in the cellar too dark.

So, I was feeling rather frustrated and impatient with the plant this spring, and put it outside on the balcony as early as I could… and guess what, that was just what it wanted:

There aren’t a lot of flowers, but it’s not about looks anyway but about smell. The plant is standing on the floor behind my balcony chair, and even if there’s only one flower open, the scent is incredibly strong. Crazy, that something so tiny can smell so strong!

So, the Jasminum will be allowed to live. Unlike one certain other plant that is facing execution as soon as there is space int the organic waste bin again, but I’ll save that for a different post.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. June 10, 2012 13:24

    eeee! I’ve always wanted to try growing this but I’ve also always known that I’d never get it to rebloom. Congrats!

    • June 10, 2012 20:16

      I might ask my boss if I can overwinter it in one of the cold greenhouses at work, that should do the trick as well.

Trackbacks

  1. Muahahaha! « Letters & Leaves

Leave a Reply

