Skip to content

Harvest Monday – June 18, 2012

June 18, 2012

Last week was a rainy one, so I didn’t feel like going outside to harvest a lot.

Rain is soup-weather, though, so I made kohlrabi soup (I also needed to eat one to get a free spot to plant my cucumber).

250 g, only half the size of a grocery store kohlrabi, but I bet mine is tastier.

I didn’t want to “waste” the leaves, so I tried putting them in the soup, but… meh… texture-wise, it would have been better without the leaves. I think next time I’ll just keep the leaves and use them for something else.

I laughed when I put the bowl on the table, though – the borage flowers fit so well in my dining room (well, the dining area of the dining/living room), because it’s all blue – the walls, upholstery on the chairs, the chests of drawers… and the bowl was blue as well!

I can’t tell you when I harvested and ate the chard, I can’t remember and the date on my camera is off – I definitely didn’t harvest it on January 30, 2006!

130 g – three huge leaves from the bedroom window, and several smaller ones from the kitchen window and balcony – there’s quite a size difference! (The bedroom window box didn’t have violas in it, so the plants had more space to grow.)

Two days later (February 1, 2006, the camera claims – either Thursday or Friday), I chopped off two of the looseleaf lettuces, because they’re beginning to bolt. Norma Chang suggested stir-frying it in her comment on last week’s Harvest Monday post, so I tried that. I added some other veggies (can’t even remember what) and pasta, because that’s what I do when I’m not sure I’ll like something – I’ll eat just about anything with pasta! Anyway, stir-fried lettuce isn’t going to be my favourite vegetable, but it does make the bolting lettuce edible, so I guess I’ll eat more of it. There’s still quite a lot of lettuce left (and now it’s all turning bitter, though only the Lollo Rosso is so bitter as to be actually inedible.)

230 g. If I’d used the regular price for looseleaf lettuce, that’d be quite a bit of money, but no-one is going to shell out € 15/kg for bitter lettuce, so I used the price for chard instead.

Oh dear… I can’t even keep up with the harvests from my little balcony garden, I shudder to think what would happen if I had an actual garden like Daphne and the others who are sharing their harvests over at her blog!

8 Comments leave one →
  1. June 19, 2012 01:03

    That soup sure looks pretty with the borage flowers even if it didn’t taste the best. I didn’t know about stir frying lettuce that has bolted- I should try that because I’ve got plenty of bolting lettuce.

  2. June 19, 2012 01:24

    I always get discoraged with my lettuce this time of year. We can’t seem to eat it fast enough and it goes bitter. Our bitter lettuce will got to the chickens and they don’t seem to mind the bitterness one bit!! 🙂

    • June 19, 2012 06:12

      I was just thinking yesterday how nice it would be to be able to keep some animals who’ll eat what I can’t.

  3. June 20, 2012 14:27

    the soup sound interesting. I’m finding that Salad Bowl lettuce does not get as bitter as fast as most of the other varieties I have.

    • June 20, 2012 18:38

      I’m not sure what variety the green lettuce is (I keep meaning to check the seed tins at work, but I always forget!), but it’s definitely lasted longer than the Lollo Rosso – now I understand why some of our customers refuse to buy Lollo Rosso (we only grow one variety of red looseleaf at a time, Lollo up until about May, then we switch to oakleaf, and some customers ask for oakleaf for several weeks before.)

  4. June 21, 2012 23:27

    Sorry you were not fond of the stir-fry lettuce. How about using it in soup like you would spinach or escarole.

    • June 22, 2012 06:00

      I didn’t dislike it, the way I do celery – I just like other stuff better! 😉 I’ll definitely experiment with it, though – there’s plenty of lettuce left to eat!

Leave a Reply

