Skip to content

Harvest Monday – July 2nd, 2012

July 2, 2012

July already?! How time flies – half of 2012 is over already, how did this happen?!

(This also means that the Carpenter brother is turning 18 today. When did my baby brother turn into an adult and a journeyman carpenter? Wasn’t it just yesterday that he started his apprenticeship? Wasn’t it just the day before that he was an adorable toddler?)

OK, back on topic. I didn’t harvest a whole lot this week – just a few herbs, a bit of lettuce and the last of the ‘Golden Sweet’ peas. It’s really getting too hot for peas now. It was a pretty decent last harvest, though – 360 g! Enough for two meals!

Now there are a last few Blauwschokkers to be picked today, and then it’s time for the pea plants to go. Won’t it be fun to get them untangled from the trellises…

8 Comments leave one →
  1. July 3, 2012 01:22

    That’s a very interesting looking pea, I’ve never seen a variety that color. Do they have a standard “pea” flavor or do they taste a little different?

    • July 3, 2012 07:06

      I’d never seen them before this year, either. They taste normal, but they look much prettier than green peas!

  2. July 3, 2012 04:29

    I had to pull one of my green bean types after the terrible winds we had (with Tropical Storm Debby.) It was really a pain to get them untangled from the netting I used as trellis.

    • July 3, 2012 07:07

      I can imagine! I have strings – and other stuff growing in the same containers, which I shouldn’t damage!

  3. Andrea permalink
    July 3, 2012 10:24

    I haven’t come across that variety of pea either………………….always something new.
    i planted out some pea seedlings a couple of weeks ago so i have quite a wait ……..

    • July 3, 2012 19:24

      But then again, you can look forward to getting peas relatively soon – mine are finished, I just pulled out the plants.

  4. July 4, 2012 15:10

    I’m always sad to see the peas go, but by the time it’s getting hot they are so sad looking and covered with aphids.

    • July 4, 2012 21:15

      Powdery mildew for me – the peas were one of the few plants that didn’t have aphids.

Leave a Reply

