Skip to content

Story-Scribbling Sunday – July 8th, 2012: Fear of Finishing

July 8, 2012

I wonder if this is what is holding me back from finishing “Goblins” – some sort of subconscious fear of finishing the first draft and having to start editing, and even worse, of finishing editing and having to deal with people wanting to read it and the question of what to do with it. All right, the latter isn’t even subconscious, but a rather conscious fear. I’m not sure I’m ready to let my family read a story like “Goblins”. As for what to do with it… if they hear I finished a story, some of my relatives are going to keep asking me when I’m going to publish it, but I don’t know if I’d even want that. Not to mention that I doubt it would be very publishable… does anyone actually want to read about a made-up world in a book that’s not fantasy?

*shrug*

I didn’t make a lot of progress with “Larin and Liria”, either, but at least I wrote something. I should work on it more – this, at least, is a story I could let people read.

I even had a funny idea what to do about the translations of the Kivailo language words and quotations I’m including.

I want to put a quote from the “Tanoroy ri Larin ty Liria”, the Ballad of Larin and Liria, at the beginning of each chapter. But I can’t put translations underneath, because they’d give away too much of what will happen later on in the plot. I can’t put the translations at the end of the book, either, because I know myself – I’ll look up the translation right away, even if it means spoiling the story. I’m impatient and curious like that.

So, what to do? The solution I’ve found may annoy some people – I know not everyone likes constructed languages being included in a story – but it works for me. I’ll have an index in the back, yes – but it’ll only be an index of the Kivailo words, and maybe translations of a few commonly used words like “aunt” or “granddaughter”. The rest will just have a blank space next to them, and those people who want to know can pick out the translations from the text and write them down.  And then use them to puzzle out the meaning of the quotations.

I know some people will hate it, and some will find it stupid and unneccessary and say I should have left the language out in the first place. But I hope there are a few more language lovers like my best friend and me – I know I’d love a book like that. Hey, I did entertain myself for hours by trying to puzzle out what each word in Galadriel’s song in “The Fellowship of the Ring” means… I read it so often that I can still quote the first few lines even though they are mostly gibberish to me!

Ai! laurië lantar lassi súrinen,
Yéni únótime ve rámar aldaron!
Yéni ve lintë yuldar avánier
mi oromardi
… something

Admittedly, I did have to look up the diacritics, but I could still write these lines from memory. I don’t remember what any of the words mean, though.

I wish I knew more books with good constructed languages…

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

