Skip to content

Harvest Monday – July 9, 2012

July 9, 2012

It’s been catch-up-with-the-chard week. Much of it has gotten huge, and some is bolting.

And clean-up week. I got rid of the peas and bolting lettuces and harvested the last of them.

A whole 5 g of ‘Golden Sweet’, and some “accidental” saved seed. There were also 60 g ‘Blauwschokker’, but the pods were so covered in powdery mildew that I didn’t take a picture. They were OK as a shelling pea, though.

I can’t remember whether it was on Monday or Tuesday, but the peas and the first chard harvest (80 g) were picked on the same day, because they went into a quick pasta dish together, with some garlic and feta.

Oh, and the last of the lettuce, too, 130 g.

Wednesday I didn’t have to cook because of the Carpenter Brother’s birthday dinner (I still can’t believe that he’s now an adult and done with his apprenticeship), and not on Thursday, either, because I had medieval dance practise, and on those days I always shower, change and eat at my mother’s place, because I need to borrow her car).

Nothing from the garden on Friday, either, because I was lazy, except for a handful (50 g) of tomatoes for lunch:

Saturday was medieval fair in Big Town – it’s a pretty crappy fair, but I “had” to go anyway, and ended up having a pretty awesome time (which involved getting soaked in a fountain and being picked as audience participant when my favourite band acted out one of their songs) and when we (best friend and I) got home, we were too lazy to cook. But I did pick a few tomatoes and herbs to eat with our bread, feta and olives.

I don’t usually use these tiny bowls (which my mother bought me in Turkey) for food, but for these 22 g of tomatoes (‘Tumbling Tom Red’, ‘Gelbe Johannisbeere’ – yellow currant, ‘Coyote’ – white currant and ‘Tess’s Land Race’ – red currant) and a bit of small-leaved basil, they’re perfect!

Yesterday, finally, an entire meal from the garden again:

250 g chard and a 410 g kohlrabi.

I made chard-and-feta strudel (huh, I seem to have eaten a lot of feta last week!), which looks kind of unappetizing in the picture, and a tzaziki-ish sauce with kohlrabi instead of cucumer. Got that idea from my mother, but I don’t know if she got the idea from someone else, or if she came up with it herself. I like it, in any case. And I made enough of both that I didn’t need to cook dinner today, and won’t need to cook tomorrow, either.

Hm, yes, I think I’ve got everything. I didn’t take pictures of any of the herbs, because they don’t look that exciting, and actually the chives look kind of ugly (thrips-eaten) – but I’ll eat them anyway. See, this is why I couldn’t be a vegetarian, then what would I do if I didn’t know whether I’d washed off all the bugs?

Sorry, I’m kind of silly today – still too wound up from too much dancing and music, and I just received and listened to the CD with all the songs we dance to, which definitely doesn’t help. Not with staying serious while writing, and not with doing chores, either. Have you ever tried to do the dishes while dancing the Tourdion?

OK, I’ll stop now. Head on over to Daphne’s Dandelions if you want to see more harvests, instead of me babbling on about dancing! 😉

6 Comments leave one →
  1. July 9, 2012 22:13

    I love so much about this post I have to list it:

    That bowl. That is so beautiful! And perfect for your tomatoes and herbs.

    Feta. I love feta. Your week with lots of feta sounds like perfection to me!

    Tourdion? I’d never heard of it before, but now I want to do it. It looks like so much fun and also–not too difficult!

    Great post!

    http://planetpooks.com/?p=4819

    • July 9, 2012 22:44

      Haha, don’t get me started – I never thought I’d enjoy dancing, but historical dance is so much fun! And Tourdion is definitely one of the easiest – I’m even learning to tell what steps I need to make from the music, instead of counting steps and watching the other dancers.

  2. July 10, 2012 02:55

    Your photos all look so summery and delicious! (Well, maybe not the powdery mildew…)

  3. July 12, 2012 02:07

    you colorful bowl looks so bright and cheerful showing off your tomatoes. Not sure I know the Tourdion; used to do some English country. Having been raised to do the two step I have a terrible time going in the opposite direction from my partner!

    • July 12, 2012 07:10

      Tourdion always makes me laugh – we have to spin the men around, and you can just tell they’re not used to it!

Leave a Reply

