Skip to content

Harvest Monday – July 16, 2012

July 16, 2012

Not a whole lot from the balcony – a few herbs, a few kind of crippled-looking cucumbers:

Obviously, my attempts at hand-pollination weren’t that successful. But once I moved the plant outside, so that the bees could do their duty, it was run over by spider mites, so I think these will be my only cucumbers this year. The same thing happened last year – I suppose I should take the hint and stop trying to grow them.

Anyway, those two wannabe cucumbers weighed a ridiculous 80 and 50 g.

But I have beans! They have spider mites, too, but they seem to be coping.

That’s 80 g of ‘Blauhilde’, which I’ve been growing since I was a little kid, and … uh… I think the yellow one is called ‘Neckargold’.

At work, we’re also growing some vegetables in containers to show our customers what’s possible on a balcony. Among other things, there are two pots of ‘Blauhilde’ beans – over the last two weeks or so, we have harvested over 1 kg of these (and I got to take home about half of them).

And I discovered an awesome blackberry patch very close to the Nettle Nest – just up the street. They’re the thorniest blackberries I’ve ever seen, so I can only pick along the edges of the thicket, but that’s quite enough to get about a quarter kilo in a few minutes on the way home from work.

200 g of blackberries, and beans from work.

I picked another 250 g two days later – then, I was wearing long trousers, a sweater and shoes instead of shorts, T-shirt and sandals, so I could lean in more closely and harvest a bit more – but I gave those to my mother.

And in addition to being so conveniently located, those blackberries are quite large, considering they are wild ones, and so tasty! I made blackberry yoghurt, and it was so delicious. I haven’t eaten fresh blackberry yoghurt for years – actually, I think I haven’t eaten blackberries (apart from an occasional one or two picked while walking) since we moved in… 2002, I think, and left the huge rented garden with a huge blackberry bush (among many other berry bushes and fruit trees). Isn’t that sad, ten years without blackberries? But berries are just too expensive to buy.

On Saturday, I went to the forest with my best friend – we wanted to pick huge amounts of raspberries, but it started to rain, and so we gave up pretty soon and came home soaked and with only (in my case) 440 g of raspberries and 70 g of blackberries.

So I’m not making jam or freezing any yet, just eating them fresh (or drinking them, rather, as raspberry milk).

We’re planning to go back next weekend, if the weather cooperates – maybe we’ll get more than that then. And I might be able to go blueberry picking with a friend of my mother’s (knock on wood) – I eat blueberries even more rarely than blackberries, because they don’t grow around here.

… I see a lot of berry-stained fingers in my future!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. July 16, 2012 23:01

    Those purple beans are just beautiful!

  2. July 17, 2012 05:46

    Wow I wish we had wild berries in our area. There just aren’t any wild berries that you can eat in our area. We do travel up to Idaho every year to visit family and pick some huckelberries in the mountains.

    • July 17, 2012 07:07

      Yes, I’m lucky to live in an area that is a weird mix of town and countryside!

  3. July 18, 2012 04:32

    Oh just love those berries! and raspberries are my fav! Hard to grow here in the desert ;-(

Leave a Reply

