Skip to content

Harvest Monday – July 30, 2012

July 30, 2012

A pretty good week, even though the blueberry-picking trip didn’t happen – my mother’s friend’s car broke down, and without a car, there’s no way to get to where the blueberries are. I’m a little disappointed, but oh well… there’s always next year. That’s one lesson I’ve learned through gardening again – to accept that sometimes things go wrong, and hope for better luck next year.

But I’m not completely berry-less. I have blackberries, and a whole lot of them!

I stopped by my bramble patch on the way home on Monday. Picked for half an hour and came away with 900 g.

I got a little philosophical while I picked. Last year, I went on and on about how picking cherries made me feel less afraid of falling off a ladder, and made me trust in my body’s ability to balance. This year, I was learning to trust not only myself, but the world around me. To simply lean on those brambles, incredibly thorny though they were, to trust them not to scratch me too badly, to trust them to support me if I put my full weight on them so I could stretch just a bit further, to reach just one more berry. I used to have that trust when I was younger, trusting the trees I was climbing to take my weight, trusting my body as we played on the scaffolding around our house, climbing up, running along, swinging down… at some point, I “grew up” enough to worry about falling, about getting hurt, and now I’m trying to unlearn that annoying habit again and just trust myself and the world around me.

Anyway. Blackberries. I froze some, and ate ridiculous amounts of blackberry yoghurt, and made a Swiss roll with blackberry/curd/cream filling – yum! Didn’t last more than three days, I think. (Definitely one of the perks of being single, I don’t have to share my cakes with anyone!)

And lots and lots of tomatoes!

‘Tumbling Tom’:

240 g in total, I think the ones in the picture are about 70 g.

‘Tess’s Land Race’ and ‘Gelbe Johannisbeere’ (currant tomatoes, 120 and 160 g), and the first eggplant, and some herbs:

Currant tomatoes may be a bother to pick, but then, I don’t have to dice them to cook with them.

‘Coyote’ (white currant tomato, 50 g)

‘Zakopane’ (80 g9 and ‘Green Grape’ (20 g), and a measly 100 g of raspberries, the results of several hours in the forest on Saturday (it was almost too late for raspberries, and too early for forest blackberries. But on the upside, I didn’t have a single tick, with was surprising.)

And 40 g of beans on Sunday – not a hugely successful crop yet, but much better than last year, when the beans were a total failure!

9 Comments leave one →
  1. July 30, 2012 22:20

    I love your philosophical musings while picking berries. And that blackberry swiss roll looks awesome! Makes me drool from way down here.

    • July 30, 2012 22:35

      I think I’ll be making a lot more Swiss rolls – so quick and easy, and so delicious!

  2. July 31, 2012 00:06

    Gorgeous (and I’m sure delicious) berries! Gosh, it seems like every northern hemisphere gardener has tomatoes except me. Lovely.

  3. July 31, 2012 01:36

    What a beautiful harvest! I’m envious of your tomatoes… and those blackberries look divine!

    • July 31, 2012 06:49

      Michelle, zentMRS, I’m sure you’ve both got other things I would be jealous of!

  4. July 31, 2012 04:06

    I am drooling on the screen. Those blackberries look divine!

  5. August 3, 2012 01:54

    oh yum that cake looks so good! I agree with you on being single! Love not having anybody else around to bother about, to be considerate of; I can do what I damn well please when it pleases me. 😉 Love all those berries! I hope you’ll post a recipe for that swiss roll thing; it looks wonderful!

    • August 7, 2012 00:39

      Will do, the next time I make one! It’s dead easy, though finding the curd cheese for the filling might be a problem, I think it’s rather uncommon outside Europe. But you could probably substitute something else.

Leave a Reply

