Skip to content

Harvest Monday Tuesday – August 7, 2012

August 7, 2012

Late this week, because didn’t get home until about midnight yesterday – or maybe it was today already, I didn’t bother to check. Either way, I’m still feeling a little fuzzy-brained after a weekend of fantasy-festival craziness, and a twelve-hour train ride and a day of unpacking and putting away more or less odd objects such as a bubblewrap cloak, and doing a ridiculous amount of laundry, and cleaning, and buying more books…

So don’t expect me to remember what I harvested on which day. There were

  • carrots (70 g)
  • kohlrabi (530 g)
  • parsley
  • basil
  • chard (160 g)
  • peppers (20 g)
  • beans (20 g)
  • and lots and lots of tomatoes: 200 g red currants, 200 g yellow currants, 170 g white currants, 910 g Tumbling Tom, 20 g Zakopane, 50 g Black Plum – all in all, over 1.5 kg.

Most of the Tumbling Toms went into pasta sauce, most of the other tomatoes came to the Netherlands with me, as my “traditional” contribution to our daily picnics. The other veggies… I think I ate mostly stir-fries with rice (or was it quinoa?), as I was so busy with packing and preparing that I didn’t have much time for cooking.

 

I was sleep-deprived and in a hurry when I picked these (at the crack of dawn on Thursday morning, before I left to catch my train), so I didn’t bother to take a picture before I packed them.

There might even have been more – I told my friend to help herself when she came to water my “garden” – but of course, if she did, they didn’t get weighed.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

