Skip to content

(Very Belated) Garden Bloggers’ Bloom Day – August 2012

August 19, 2012

I’ve never been this late for a GBBD before. But then, I’ve never been ill at the time, either. So it’s no wonder I forgot, when all I was thinking about was whether the bed or the sofa would be more comfortable (and whether I felt awake enough to read some more of A Song of Ice and Fire).

There’s not all that much blooming, either. Lucky “clover” (Oxalis tetraphylla) and nasturtiums outside the kitchen window:

The variegated Abutilon is finally blooming – and full of whiteflies:

Oxalis articulata, Streptocarpus saxorum and in the background, Oxalis spiralis var. vulcanicola and the wax begonia I keep forgetting to eat:

Convolvulus sabatius:

Dorotheanthus bellidiformis – I originally bought these seeds to prove that what’s sold as Dorotheanthus bellidiformis ‘Mezoo Trailing Red’ is actually Aptenia cordifolia (side note: we bought plug plants from a different supplier this year, and they had them tagged as Aptenia), but this year was the first year I didn’t drown the seedlings.

Not a great picture, but I wasn’t feeling so great, and it was terribly hot outside, so I only snapped the one and went back inside.

It’s supposed to be even hotter tomorrow, my first day back at work. Ugh. Not happy about that at all. I think the Dorotheanthus is one of the few “people” in the Nettle Nest who enjoy this weather.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. August 22, 2012 19:34

    Sorry you weren’t feeling good 😦 Your blooms are looking lovely, though…especially the Morning Glory πŸ™‚

    • August 22, 2012 19:41

      Thanks! I don’t see much of them, because it’s too hot to be outside, but they’re one of my favourites this year!

  2. August 23, 2012 00:42

    Oh Delosperma/Aptenia…I will never forget THAT episode. I love the oxalis and streptocarpus together

  3. Sarah Piazza permalink
    August 23, 2012 01:29

    How pretty!

  4. September 5, 2012 08:36

    Very beautiful. I am also growing these plants although abutilon is shy of our monsoon rains.

Leave a Reply

