Skip to content

Those Moments…

August 30, 2012

I’m sure you all have them. Those moments when the floor is full of leaves and dirt and sticky with honeydew…

… when your plants are full of bugs and almost bare of leaves…

Beans…

… eaten by caterpillars…

This was supposed to be kale… I thought I’d picked all the caterpillars off before I left…

… almost drowned…

… and you wonder why you even bother, why you invest so much time and energy and money into something that is so often messy and frustrating…

… but I’m sure you also have those other kind of moments, when you look up and see something like this…

… and you remember why you put up with the mess and the bugs and the work – for beautiful, rewarding moments like this.

 

I’m feeling slightly jealous of the friend I stayed with in London – in her tiny back garden (which is about the size of my living room), most of one fence is overgrown by Passiflora caerulea. Not many flowers while I was there, but lots and lots of buds, and even some fruits. Now, of course, I will be dreaming of having huge passionflowers like that.

But then again, my ‘Sapphire’ is much prettier than the plain old caerulea. And for its size, it has quite enough flowers and buds.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 31, 2012 21:04

    The whole month of July was pretty much nothing but those moments for me, so I sympathize.

    • August 31, 2012 21:21

      Luckily, it’s only been short moments of frustration for me – but I’m kind of looking forward to winter and no balcony garden work!

Leave a Reply

