Skip to content

Harvest Monday – September 3, 2012

September 3, 2012

Now it’s been a while since I’ve participated in Harvest Monday – first because I was ill, and literally didn’t harvest anything for a full week (it was all I could do to water enough to keep my plants alive. No way I could have harvested and cooked anything!) and then because I was in the UK.

But now I’m back, so let’s look at what I have harvested… I’ll “cheat” a little and have a look at everything that I’ve harvested since my last harvest post!

Beans – a measly handful from my balcony, and huge amounts from work! They’re the same variety, also growing in pots, to show our customers what you can do on a balcony, but unlike mine they’re not being eaten by spider mites and whitefly. Two days before I left for the UK, I picked over a kg, and since my boss didn’t want them, I took them home and ended up having to freeze most of them – there’s no way I could eat that many beans in two days!

Tomatoes, basil, Chinese chives – I think these were for a salad.

Before I left, I cut the sage and hung it up to dry, so that my friend wouldn’t have to water quite so much – I think the two big sage plants were the reason the herb planter always dried out so quickly.

I kept trying to grow ornamental varieties with prettily coloured leaves, to kill two birds with one stone – to have something ornamental and useful… but they kept getting mildew and dying for no reason at all – I’m quite glad that this spring I brought home the couple of seedlings we didn’t pot up at work.

More tomatoes.

Since I had to be at the airport in Vienna way too early in the morning, my mother, the Clown Brother and I visited some friends in Vienna the day before and spent the night at their place – I brought them some tomatoes. I have to say, I absolutely love this colourful picture – and the tomatoes were gone in no time at all, with our friends exclaiming about how good they were.

And finally, yesterday’s harvest:

Two laughably small cucumbers (140 g) and two peppers (90 g), chives, parsley, basil, Chinese chives and the first handful of the Asian greens  (20 g) I planted that yesterday – we’re now selling pots of babyleaf lettuces and Asian greens at work, so I decided to plant some as well instead of having to wait until my own seeds have sprouted and grown big enough – I still sowed some, though. The pots are far too expensive to buy many. In any case, I made pasta salad yesterday with all of this and some tomatoes from work – it was quite delicious – I just wish I could have made more, but it was my last pasta!

There were more tomatoes and herbs, but I didn’t take more pictures, and I can’t be bothered to look through my list.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. September 4, 2012 04:09

    that is a lovely harvest you have there; love all the pretty tomato colors!

  2. September 4, 2012 04:48

    So. on the topic of edible plants… you grow kohlrabi, right? Are the leaves edible/any good? I know it’s related to kale and all that but I have no idea if I can eat the leaves too…

    • September 4, 2012 07:03

      You can. I’ve done it, but right now, most of them are eaten by caterpillars, so there are none left for me.

      • September 6, 2012 03:07

        I’ll have to do that then…mine are strangely beautiful and look quite tasty! Lord knows I don’t actually want the kohlrabi…blargh.

  3. September 4, 2012 19:43

    Very pretty harvest, love the purple beans and peppers and the colorful tomatoes.

Leave a Reply

