Skip to content

Someone Is Not Happy

September 7, 2012

I had to move some plants around so my friend would be able to open the windows easily to water the vegetables on the outside sills while I was in London. Having to move a couple dozen of them out of the way and back again every morning is OK for me, but I didn’t want to make even more work for Amber – watering the balcony every day is quite enough work!

So some of the kitchen windowsill plants got stuck in the second row at the living room window, which is less sunny than the kitchen as it is. The Oxalis megalorrhiza was not pleased at all.

It wouldn’t have gotten quite so bad if I hadn’t also been very lazy… I didn’t move it back to its proper place until today. One and a half weeks after coming home. I’m a little ashamed to admit it, but I haven’t even been watering my houseplants since before I left for London (except for the occasional very thirsty one, which got whatever was left in the glass of water on my bedside table in the morning). But everything has survived. The Amorphophallus has gone dormant sooner than I would have liked, but the tuber looks a little larger than last year, and it’s one less thing to water.

To get back on topic, this is what the Oxalis looks like now:

Sad, isn’t it? But I’m really glad the mystery seedling survived – I have no idea what it will be, and I hope it will grow large enough for me to find out. And I hope the Oxalis will recover and look nice again!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

