Skip to content

Greetings from Sisyphus

September 18, 2012

I spent a lot of time cleaning today. The last thing I did was scrub the floor in the living room – it’s amazing how much dirt I track in from the balcony.

Then I decided, before I’d sit down and decide what to blog about today, I’d just straighten the stake of the Ficus binnendijki in the mixed planter next to the kitchen door. I reached up and there was a clatter, a rustle and a bang, and then this:

All over the carpet and my freshly-cleaned floor…

Oh well… at least it was dry dirt, easily vacuumed up. And the vacuum cleaner was already standing just two steps away. And it happened in the living room, not the bedroom, which is next to my crazy neighbour’s bedroom – he would have been over to complain about my late-night noisiness with the vacuum cleaner for sure! (And I think the apartment next to my living room is empty right now, so even better.) And I do have a few broken vines that I could chop up and stick in a glass of water to root, to either make a bushier plant for myself or to sell. And I knew at once what I would be blogging about.

Still, it is a little irritating that cleaning is just never finished. I swear, I only need to turn around and there are leaves on the floor again! Or a whole plant.

 

(Edit: And my computer seems to have thought, “oh, this is a great idea, let’s tease Ivy some more!” and decided to get a virus right after I’d spent a couple of hours fixing some other issues…)

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Tom permalink
    September 19, 2012 03:33

    Oh jeeze at first i read that as “welcome to syphillis” and was horrified about what this post might contain.

    • September 19, 2012 10:09

      Haha, that would have been even less fun than all that dirt.
      Unless, of course, it had been another story like this….

Leave a Reply

