Skip to content

Harvest Monday – September 24, 2012

September 24, 2012

I haven’t been doing so well about harvesting lately. Not because there was nothing to harvest, but because I simply was too tired/lazy. I’m beginning to understand where my mother comes from when she says she loves planting things, but doesn’t like caring for or harvesting them nearly as much. It’s all very well in spring when I’m excited about every bit of green on my balcony, but by now it looks like I need a machete to even get out the door, picking tomatoes requires a ladder and the herbs are full of bugs…

Anyway, I picked some tomatoes again – there’s not much left on the plants, so I’m not sure they’ll stay up much longer. It would be nice to be able to walk without constantly bumping into tomato plants.

70 g of ‘Tess’s Land Race’ currant tomatoes.

225 g  of ‘Coyote’ white curran tomatoes and a 150 g eggplant, both of which went into a quick pasta dish.

I think it’s time for bed. I can’t keep my languages straight any more – almost wrote “melanzani” instead of “eggplant”, which is an Austrian name (adopted from Italian) that confuses even the Germans.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. September 25, 2012 12:24

    “Melanzani” confuses me too, tbh. xD I only learned (and memorized) its meaning when a lecturer mentioned it last semester in Japanese grammar. Forgot what it means in Japanese though…

    The yellow tomatoes look funny!

    • September 25, 2012 18:57

      They’re a variety that seems to be impossible to get in Europe – I had to order the seeds from the US!

      I love the word “Melanzani” – I use it all the time on my German blog to confuse my German readers! 😀

Leave a Reply

