Skip to content

Harvest Monday – October 1, 2012

October 1, 2012

A very short post this week:

My only harvests this week, 150 g of white currant tomatoes (which went on a pizza – I think currant tomatoes make a great pizza topping) from the balcony, and over 1 kg of sweet chestnuts from the tree down by my old school. Quite a lot – I already gave half of them to my best friend, because half a kilo is still plenty for me!

Still, greedy girl that I am, I’ll go back to that tree a few more times – there are so many other people getting chestnuts there now, and even though I know there’s only so much I can eat, I don’t like to share.

I’m still wondering why they’ve now fenced in the park around the school – to keep the kids from wandering off? Or from running into traffic, which to my knowledge has never happened? Or to keep out evil strangers? Whatever the reason, luckily the gates aren’t locked, so I’m not feeling bad about going inside to get my chestnuts. (I’d still quite like to know the reason, though, and I sincerely hope it’s just to keep dogs/dog poop out, because I’d hate crazy overprotection of kids take over here in Austria.)

4 Comments leave one →
  1. October 2, 2012 00:59

    Chestnuts – yum!!

  2. October 5, 2012 19:31

    Aw, they look delicious! Wish I had some.

    And humans seem to like fences. I don’t know why. Luckily our garden back at home isn’t fenced (there’s only fields around anyway) – except for the berries we’re growing in a corner. If we had a fence, the tractor would probably crash it. Accidentally. xD

    • October 5, 2012 20:03

      It’s just that it’s the first fenced school that I’ve ever seen. I spent eight years there myself (which is how I know about the chestnut tree), and I can’t remember any incident that would make people think, “we need a fence”.

Leave a Reply

