Skip to content

Summer’s Books

October 16, 2012

Summer is long past – now it’s already cold enough that I have to wear so many layers of clothes that I can hardly move any more – and I still haven’t reviewed what I read during that season!

 1. Sherryl Jordan, Flüsternde Hände (The Raging Quiet) (New, German): A quick, but really good read. I like YA, I like historical fiction, and lately I also seem to like books that have characters with disabilities, like deaf Raven… I don’t own the book, otherwise I’d be looking through it right now and listing even more things I liked, but as it is I can only say I thoroughly enjoyed it.

2. Clive Cussler, Verloren Stad (Lost City) (New, Dutch): The second Dutch book I’ve read, and without once using a dictionary. But I’m afraid the best thing I can say about this book is that some Dutch words did finally stick in my mind… I might have said it before, but I often find a (well-written) Fantasy book, magic and all, more believable than the plot of many thrillers. This was one such case, with all that genetic engineering rubbish and mutant seaweed…

3. Robin Hobb/Megan Lindholm, The Inheritance & Other Stories (New, English): random find in a Big Town bookstore, snatched up at once. Hobb and Lindholm are really the same person, but I hadn’t ever read anything that she’d published as Lindholm (I own all the Hobb books). The “Lindholm” stories were often a little disturbing, but good, and the “Hobb” stories an enjoyable addition to the Six Duchies/Bingtown/Rain Wilds universe.

4. G.R.R. Martin, A Game of Thrones (New, English),
5. G.R.R. Martin, A Clash of Kings (New, English),
6. G.R.R. Martin, A Storm of Swords (New, English),
7. G.R.R. Martin, A Feast for Crows (New, English),
8. G.R.R. Martin, A Dance with Dragons (New, English): After these books kept me from doing anything but reading for weeks, of course they got their own post.

9. Tad Williams, The Dirty Streets of Heaven (New, English): Got its own post as well.

10. J.K. Rowling, Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban (reread, English): Reread for my traditional September 1st Harry Potter post.

11. Tad Williams, The Dirty Streets of Heaven (reread, English): Yes, I read this again just about ten days later. In fact, I’m reading it again right now because there’s a group (re)read at the Tad Williams message board with weekly chapter discussions.

It’s not writing the reviews that takes so long, it’s pulling all those books off the shelves for my traditional book-pile picture, and finding appropriately-sized placeholders for books I don’t own, and putting them away again…

12. Umberto Eco, Der Name der Rose (The Name of the Rose) (new, German): This was an odd book for me, one that I hadn’t ever read before, but that was nonetheless full of memories. I remember my mother and aunts watching the film on TV when I was a kid (I was in the room, but probably reading or drawing or something), at my paternal grandparents’ place. I vaguely remembered how the monks had been killed, but not why, so it was still a good mystery.
The other memory the book held was of the room in the Sandcastle (one of my previous homes) that was supposed to become the upstairs toilet, but during our entire time there was a mini-library/junk storage. There was a pile of random things like mailboxes and sailor’s kitbags, and a bookcase (which, I think, didn’t even belong to us) full of my parents’ books. I remember myself standing in the tiny space that was left, looking for books to read… there were a couple by Eco, but I could never get into them – guess I’m finally grown up enough now!
But mostly, The Name of the Rose made me wish I hadn’t forgotten all my Latin. On the other hand, I was surprised by how easily I could read Salvatore’s language mish-mash. I guess it’s pretty close to the way I think myself sometimes!
A good book, although I don’t think I’ll read it again very soon – might hunt down some of Eco’s other books, though.

13. Wolf Haas, Auferstehung der Toten [Resurrection of the Dead] (reread, German),
14. Wolf Haas, Komm, süßer Tod [Come, Sweet Death] (reread, German) and
15. Wolf Haas, Verteidigung der Missionarsstellung [Defence of the Missionary Position] (new, German): Wolf Haas also deserved a post of his own.

16. Noah Gordon, Der Schamane (Shaman) (reread, German): picked this up at the flea market, and realized later I’d read it before. Good enough book, but I’ve always got the feeling that Gordon is a little repetitive. It’s strange, I enjoy historical fiction, but I can never get excited about it the way I can with Fantasy.

And now, on to autumn – we’ll see how much I’ll manage to read, with NaNoWriMo just two weeks away!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 24, 2012 06:18

    Have you every read “Ursula, Under” by (I believe) Ingrid Hill? It’s a beautiful, lush book, and full of fascinating characters, many of whom have disabilities. It’s a motif that she weaves skillfully throughout the story. Highly recommended.

Leave a Reply

