Skip to content

Harvest Monday – October 22, 2012

October 22, 2012

I’m harvesting more again. Partly because it’s turning cold, and I need to pick and eat things before the first frost, and partly because NaNoWriMo is coming closer, and that means cooking for the freezer.

Tomatoes (‘Tumbling Tom’ – 100 g – and ‘Zakopane’ – 330 g) and one lonely string bean (10g). The smaller tomatoes were eaten with my lunch sandwiches, the rest into a red lentil/vegetable stew.

Finally, some ripe(-ish) peppers (50 g). Went into a huge pot of pumpkin/pepper pasta sauce along with lots of peppers from work.

The last eggplants (140 g) – once again not impressed with the harvest. Those went into lasanga, I think the only thing last week that didn’t go into the freezer. Of everything else, I cooked at least double batches, so I could freeze at least one meal every day.

And that lasanga was also the only meal that week that had any meat in it. I went vegetarian for a week and didn’t even notice it. Always makes me laugh when I remember one of my classmates who claimed, “If it’s not meat, it’s not food!” (or something along those lines.) I think vegetables are so much more interesting/varied than meat! Although I don’t think I could be a real vegetarian, I still like meat every now and then.

Anyway, back to my harvests, there were also chives, parsley, the last of the basil, some ‘Black Plum’ tomatoes that I didn’t take pictures of, and various tea herbs.

One Comment leave one →
  1. October 24, 2012 06:11

    Ah, these vegetables are gorgeous! I’m very jealous right now.

Leave a Reply

