Skip to content

Harvest Monday – November 5, 2012

November 6, 2012

No actual harvests this week, but I have weighed and photographed (most of) the weekend before last – the ones in the super-messy picture in the middle of this post.

OK, hm, well, it turns out I didn’t take pictures of the tomatoes after I’d sorted them, but I had 40 g ‘Tess’s Land Race’ (red currant tomatoes), 100 g ‘Gelbe Johannisbeere’ (yellow currant), 180 g ‘Coyote’ (white currant) and 50 g ‘Black Plum’. And plenty of unripe ones that I spread on top of a kitchen cabinet. I should climb out and pick out the ones that have ripened since then some time soon, but I don’t quite know what to do with them. I don’t really cook during NaNoWriMo (I live out of the freezer).

I do have a picture of what I did with the currant tomatoes, though:

I should have made this more often in the summer – such a quick and easy dish (apart from picking the tomatoes) and so delicious – sauté some onions and garlic, toss in the tomatoes – just long enough to heat them, add salt and whatever other spices/herbs you want (I used red pepper and some nasturtium leaves, because I was out of basil), and some pasta, and enjoy!

Oxalis tetraphylla (“Lucky Clover”) roots. I had 400 g, but some had been eaten by the time I took this picture. I would probably have had more if I had removed the bulbs from the tops of the fleshy roots right away (this is what they look like freshly harvested), because I think the roots have shrunk a bit as water and nutrients were drawn back into the bulb.

I’m still a little clueless about what to do with them, but I tossed some in with the chicken legs I roasted last week (along with some sweet potatoes, the Black Plum tomatoes, one sweet pepper, onions, garlic – damn, now I’m getting hungry again! Can’t wait for the weekend so I can make this again!). They had a weird texture, a little slimy on the outside and crunchy on the inside, with a slightly sour taste. Odd, but not bad! I’ll keep growing them.

450 g of pathetically small sweet potatoes – but those plants looked so unhappy that I’m surprised I got a harvest at all.

When there was a night of rather strong frost forecast, I decided to chop off the last pepper plant I had left and hang it in the broom cupboard in the hope the peppers would still ripen. Worked pretty well.

There was one more pepper that didn’t get photographed, bringing the total up to 175 g for this last harvest. That one got tossed in with the roasted chicken legs – it was so funny, we’d quartered it and the pieces rolled up a little so they looked totally like carrots! We knew we hadn’t put in any carrots, but we still kept thinking they were carrots!

I don’t expect I’ll write many more Harvest Monday posts this year. There are still some carrots and kohlrabis out, and the oca – hoping, hoping, hoping for a good harvest, I’ll leave them out as long as possible – and maybe I’ll get some more baby leaf Asian greens, but I don’t really have time for harvesting or cooking in November. I don’t even know what to do with the peppers. I don’t want to eat them raw (I don’t like raw peppers that much any more), and I don’t have time to cook!

After adding these last harvests to the list, and some dried sage that I noticed I hadn’t put in a price for yet, I’m now only € 3.58 away from breaking even. So, yes, balcony gardening can pay off! Hah! (Everyone says it doesn’t.)

And that’s only with using the prices from the vegetable farm and the grocery store where I would otherwise buy my vegetables and herbs. My mother recently gave me the price list for the organic produce delivery service she uses, and they’re ridiculous! Like, € 7.45/kg for peppers – I’ve used € 4 for my calculations.

But I don’t buy from them, and I wouldn’t buy from them even if I didn’t grow my own food, so I won’t use their prices.

Also, my mother, my best friend and me have decided to try to get a community garden plot next year (for the three of us to share) – wish us luck.

And in turn, I will be wishing the US luck tomorrow… I keep telling myself, it’s not my country, it’s none of my business, I should not care about the election… but I do. Fingers crossed for my friends across the pond.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. November 6, 2012 04:16

    Thanks doll, we need all the help we can get. We’re in a bit of an identity crisis at the moment, but I believe cooler heads will emerge (because if I don’t believe that, my head will explode). Your pasta dish looked delicious!

    • November 6, 2012 22:21

      It was!
      Spent my whole day today thinking good thoughts… strange how this election is on my thoughts more than our own ever are – but then, our political system is a lot different, so really dramatic changes are pretty unlikely just because a different party comes first in the elections.

Leave a Reply

