Skip to content

NaNoWriMo Week 5 – Still a Long Way to Go

December 3, 2012

I won, once again – my fifth year now. But, as usual, the story is far from finished. I’d say I’ve got about a third of it, but I’m really bad at estimating such things, so I probably shouldn’t even try.

I’ve pretty much finished the first part, in which Larin is six and Liria nine. I thought I was already almost done with the last chapter of this part, but I might add another one from Larin’s POV. A shortish one, though – I don’t want to get bogged down in pointless, boring babbling again. And then I get to skip a couple of years and send him on some solo adventures.

I think I said in my last post that I’m pretty happy with how my characters are developing. There’s just one thing that’s bugging me: they seem to have no sense of humour whatsoever. I’m trying to write the sort of book that I’d like to read myself, and I much prefer books that occasionally make me laugh. The Bramble Prince, as I’ve mentioned before, was originally inspired by Tad Williams’ The Dragonbone Chair, and one of the reasons why I fell in love with that book was because it makes me laugh.

‘Chores?’ gasped Simon. ‘Chores? Tomorrow?’

‘Certainly,’ snapped the doctor. ‘You don’t think anything out of the ordinary is going to happen, do you? Do you suppose that the king is going to announce: “Oh, by the way, my brother escaped from the dungeon last night, so we’ll all have a holiday and go look for him,” – you don’t think that, do you?’

Sorry. That doesn’t really have anything to do with anything… I just love randomly quoting The Dragonbone Chair.

Well, actually, now that I think about it… Laso in The Bramble Prince does end up in a kind of similar situation to Simon here… funny how these unintentional paralells crop up.

I just wish I had someone like Doctor Morgenes in my story. Except that I’d have to kill him off, because killing the mentor seems to be some sort of tradition.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

